VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. i have a season of a tv show that i want to rip to mp4 or avi,, what the best way for me ,, i am new at this so i need the easiest way ,,

thanks
    Quote Quote  
  2. DVD, Bluray, or are they files you have recorded and just want to convert to a different format?
    Is this is a commercial disc? If so, it will have protection which needs to be counteracted.
    I'm afraid you need to be more specific before anyone can help.
    Quote Quote  
  3. yes it is a store disc not bluray and i think it is protected
    thanks
    Quote Quote  
  4. OK. My favoured method at the moment is DVDFab but it's expensive.
    For free, one method is rip with BDlot DVD ISO Master. This will produce an ISO file and remove structural protection.
    An ISO contains a duplicate of the DVD files, menus and structure. If you have a good HDD media player it might play this directly.
    To break it down into separate titles try loading the ISO into video.Net. Each main title will be displayed as a video file.
    Set it so it ouputs MP4 and not MKV.
    Check the title you want to convert (if it's a series there will be a number of volumes of about the same size) and press 'start'.
    Repeat for each of the episodes.

Good luck.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    robbie1965, in the future please use a more descriptive subject title in your posts to allow others to search for similar topics. I will change yours this time. From our rules:
    Try to choose a subject that describes your topic.
    Please do not use topic subjects like Help me!!! or Problems.
    Thanks,
    Moderator redwudz

Most all commercial DVDs/Blu-rays are encrypted. First you need a decrypter. DVDFab HD Decrypter is a basic freeware program that can do this.