VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to this, so bear with me.

I have a lot of DVDs (around 300) that I want to put onto a hard drive for backup purposes and also to watch them on my laptop or TV without having to find the disks! I haven't ever downloaded any torrents but from research, it appears that film torrents are around 700Mb and are AVI files so this seems to be the accepted standard.

I've downloaded many tools over the last month, including DVD Decryptor and AutoGK 2.55. These two seem to be working reasonably well for me so far - I put the DVD in, convert it using DVD Decryptor to 2 files (a IFO and a VOB file). The IFO file is less than 100Kb and the VOB file varies wildly between 3 and 8Gbs. I then use AutoGK, load up the IFO file, set a Custom Size of 700Mb, and it converts it to one AVI file of roughly 700Mb. It takes around 3 hours to do a film, which is ages, but all seems reasonably good.

However, I've noticed that some films look terrible, really patchy and pixelated. For these films, I've tried increasing the Custom Size to 1400Mb, but then it takes around 7-8 hours per film, which is just too long.

Since coming onto these forums, I've noticed people mentioning mkv a lot, but AutoGK seems to just convert to avi. I've also seen programs like Handbrake and VidCoder mentioned.

I have some questions:

1. Is what I'm currently using good for my task, or does anyone recommend anything better/faster/easier?
    2. Is AVI the best format, or will I see better quality from mkv?
    3. I leave all the AutoGK settings as default except the Custom Size. Are there any settings I should be tweaking to get better/faster results?

Thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Also, one further question, I've seen some people recommend using DVD Shrink before using AutoGK as this will speed up AutoGK. Is this true? I've never used DVD Shrink.