VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Newbie is right. Here goes. I got a Samsung HD H300 camcorder for a gift. I recorded the family opening Xmas gifts etc. I can't for the life of me figure out how to burn the video to a dvd. I have ZERO knowledge about any of this so if you can explain it to me like I'm a 3rd grader it would help.
    -I might return camera due to focus issues, and buy a Sony but I have a few questions.
    #1 Can I skip the computer process and just buy a external burner? Will if burn in HD and play on BR and DVD?
    #2 Does the quality of a SD camera fail to even come close to HD? (Not looking to film wildlife stuff but like the video quality of HD)
    Sorry for not knowing, but all of this is overwhelming to me since I am replacing a video camera with mini tapes.

Thanks to all !!
    Quote Quote  
  2. You may run into some resistance to providing the level of help for which you're asking: It's a little like a first-grader asking for an explanation of algebra without knowing any of the earlier fundamentals.

On the upper left of every Videohelp page is a section on "How To." For "3d grade explanations," you might want to start at

https://www.videohelp.com/convert#4;62

You first need to educate yourself on the fundamentals of DVD file formats, how to convert from MP4 (which seems to be the format your camera uses) to DVD format, how to author a DVD (including recommended software to use), and how to burn your resulting files to a recordable DVD in a DVD-ROM-compatible format.

Once you've got the fundamentals and perhaps tried out what you've learned, then it's more likely you'll get answers to specific questions and problems you face, rather than an "I need someone to teach me everything I need to know" request.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    To go a little deeper than cobrapilot - SD will not look as good as hd. Period.