VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,
    I need to convert a DV movies with an Avisynth script. I have a QuadCore 6600 with 4GB Ram, and Windows 7 x64.
    I'm using Virtualdub, version 1.9.11

    The script I'm using is this:

    Code:
    SetMTMode(5,4)
    SetMemoryMax(256)
    Import("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\MCTemporalDenoise.v1.4.20.avsi")
    #LoadVirtualDubPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\VideoTools\VirtualDub\plugins\ccd\ccd_sse2.vdf","_VD_ccd")
    
    AVISource("2009.08.29 - Viaggio in Croazia.avi")
    #source = LAST
    SetMTMode(2)
    
    # DV PANASONIC LETTERBOX ON 4:3
    AssumeFrameBased().ComplementParity().SeparateFields().Crop(0,32,720,218).BicubicResize(720,288).Weave()
    
    # DV JVC 16:9
    # AssumeFrameBased().ComplementParity().SeparateFields().Weave()
    
    #ConvertToRGB32(interlaced=true)._VD_ccd(50,1)
    
    ConvertToYV12(interlaced=true)
    
    MCTemporalDenoise(settings="medium",interlaced=true,chroma=true)

    Even I use ONLY virtualdub, or even I not use the MTMode... I get this error (randomly, after 9000 or 20000 frames):

    Code:
    [*] AVI: Opening file "D:\VideoLab\DV Movies\demo.mc.avs"
    
    [i] AVI: Avisynth detected. Extended error handling enabled.
    [*] Beginning preview operation.
    
    [i] Dub: Input (decompression) format is: YUV420.
    
    [i] Dub: Output (compression) format is: YUV420.
    [*] Ending operation.
    [*] AVI: Opening file "D:\VideoLab\DV Movies\demo.mc.avs"
    
    [i] AVI: Avisynth detected. Extended error handling enabled.
    [*] Beginning preview operation.
    
    [i] Dub: Input (decompression) format is: XRGB8888.
    
    [i] Dub: Output (compression) format is: XRGB8888.
    [*] Ending operation.
    [*] AVI: Opening file "D:\VideoLab\DV Movies\demo.mc.avs"
    
    [i] AVI: Avisynth detected. Extended error handling enabled.
    [*] Beginning preview operation.
    
    [i] Dub: Input (decompression) format is: YUV420.
    
    [i] Dub: Output (compression) format is: YUV420.
    [*] Ending operation.
    [*] Beginning preview operation.
    
    [i] Dub: Input (decompression) format is: YUV420.
    
    [i] Dub: Output (compression) format is: YUV420.
    [*] Ending operation.
    [*] AVI: Opening file "D:\VideoLab\DV Movies\demo.mc.avs"
    
    [i] AVI: Avisynth detected. Extended error handling enabled.
    [*] Beginning preview operation.
    
    [i] Dub: Input (decompression) format is: YUV420.
    
    [i] Dub: Output (compression) format is: YUV420.
    [*] Ending operation.
    [*] Beginning preview operation.
    
    [i] Dub: Input (decompression) format is: YUV420.
    
    [i] Dub: Output (compression) format is: YUV420.
    [*] Ending operation.
    [*] Beginning dub operation.
    
    [i] Dub: Input (decompression) format is: YUV420.
    
    [i] Dub: Output (compression) format is: YUV420.
    
    [i] Dub: I/O thread has not cycled for thirty seconds -- possible livelock. 
        (Thread action: reading video data from disk) (Current address: 771AF861)
    
    [i] Dub: Processing thread has not cycled for thirty seconds -- possible 
        livelock. (Thread action: waiting for video frame from I/O thread) 
        (Current address: 771AF861)
    
    [i] Dub: I/O thread has not cycled for thirty seconds -- possible livelock. 
        (Thread action: reading video data from disk) (Current address: 771AF861)
    
    [i] Dub: Processing thread has not cycled for thirty seconds -- possible 
        livelock. (Thread action: waiting for video frame from I/O thread) 
        (Current address: 771AF861)
    
    [i] Dub: I/O thread has not cycled for thirty seconds -- possible livelock. 
        (Thread action: reading video data from disk) (Current address: 771AF861)
    
    [i] Dub: Processing thread has not cycled for thirty seconds -- possible 
        livelock. (Thread action: waiting for video frame from I/O thread) 
        (Current address: 771AF861)
    How can I solve this issue???
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    now I'm trying to use VirtualDubMod. I noticed that with virtualdub after 50 frames stops processing for about 3 seconds, then suddenly ... resumes as if it froze ... on virtualdub instead this does not happen.

    But some solution for virtualdub?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    even with virtualdub I get the same error!!
    Please.... help me!!!!!
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Search Comp PM
    This sort of error is difficult to diagnose since, unless it's a known problem. we can only guess at possible causes.

    Try using different values for SetMemoryMax and see what happens.

    Another possibility is incompatible plugins.
    Check, for example, that you have only one version of MaskTools in your plugins folder, and that it is the right version for your Avisynth - mt_masktools-25.dll for Avisynth 2.58 (or earlier) and mt_masktools-26.dll for Avisynth 2.60.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    A fault when dealing with sse2 ... ccd_sse2.vdf

    It's a common problem known as "system bottleneck" or choking ... the cpu is too busy to handle request so new requests are placed in a que ... and if too busy it sends out an error.

    Find another route without using the ccd_sse2.vdf
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks Bjs for your supply.
    In all true, I get the Avisynth script without the VD plugin. Then, I load the Avisynth into VD, separate fields with deinterlace, apply the CCD filter, re-interlace with BFF, and the conversion gone a little bit more speed-up.

    For Gavino: I've also remove the masktools 2.6, and keep only the 2.5 version.

    For now, the conversion not stops yet!!!!! I'll update you soon!
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    And... the winner is.... CEDOCIDA DV CODEC!!!
    Yeah! This one is my little-Gargoyle!!!

    Explain: I have removed the VDPLugin from AviSynth Script.
    I have inserted the deinterlace (double-frame - bottom field first) + CCD (NO-SSE2, no multithreading) + Interlace (BFF)
    I have erroneously used a RGB codec for output.
    Result: like a charm! 4.5fps!!!

    I have seen that codec was not DV, so I re-encode with CEDOCIDA DV CODEC... and... that's the problem! After 9k frames, it stops!

    So, is there a DV codec that works????

    thanks to all of you for your supply!!!

    I think I need to open a new thread, isn't it?
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by klode View Post
    I re-encode with CEDOCIDA DV CODEC... and... that's the problem! After 9k frames, it stops!
    I don't know if it will help, but try installing the latest version from here:
    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1400918#post1400918

    (I think you can carry on here without starting a new thread if the problem is the same one or related to it.)
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    Gavino, I've just installed the new version (0.2.2) but the result is the same.
    Now, I want to try coding with Cedocida without any AviSynth script. But I've read that Cedocida create break frames every x frames...

    But is there any other DV codec???
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    any other DV codec than Cedocida???
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    There is the panasonic dv codec.
    Quote Quote  
  12. The Panasonic DV codec is full of bugs and only outputs RGB. It will crush darks and brights. Avoid it if at all possible. Certianly don't us it as your decoder. ffdshow includes a VFW DV codec. But, if I recall correctly, it uses simple duplication to convert 4:1:1 chroma to 4:2:2 chroma or 4:4:4 RGB when decoding.

    By the way, I just encoded a 195,000 frame video with Cedocida and VirtualDub 1.9.11. No problems.

    Some things you can try in VirtualDub:

    Options -> Preferences -> Threading -> Video Compression Threads... Try 0 and 1. 1 is preferable (faster).

    Disable the display of the input and output panes while encoding.
    Last edited by jagabo; 2nd Jan 2012 at 19:36.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Search Comp PM
    @klode

    Just to point out, in case you missed it, that cedocida's author has finally replied to your query on Doom9 (I guess he reads the forum only occasionally).
    http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?p=1550739&postcount=185
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    After many days... I'm not resolve this problem yet! But sometimes, I can make the convert without problem... Have I some poltergeist in my Computer??????
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads

Visit our sponsor! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!