VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I have several years experience now converting between various formats. Since I discovered AviDemux (AD), it pretty much has taken over the tasks with AVIs and I'm very happy with it. After maybe 5-7 years using AutoGK (AGK), I much prefer AD - it's easier to work with, doesn't need installing and supports way more formats. It's easy to crop, add fade-ins and -outs and other minor editing before re-encoding. But AD doesn't work on the odd AVI and MP4. i.e., I have an AVI that when re-encoded with my preferred specs developed audio synch issues. In such cases, in past would have just used AGK for this one, which usually fixed the problem (and vice-versa, in the early days of my using AD when I was still predominantly AGK, would switch over to AD when AGK produced auto-of-synch files, and resulting file usu. was good).

The hassle lies AGK needs installing - it's lengthy enough and involves several steps. I just did an OS wipe/reinstall and don't want hassle anymore of installing AGK so it's going to get retired for good now.

My other freewares don't do an adequate job, though. Any Video Converter has bug: CBR audio doesn't produce CBR audio, instead, it's VBR. No good. XMedia Recode okay, but I just particularly care for it. Clunky and not as easy/peasy to work with as AD.

Can anyone recommend anything, then, preferably that works as a standalone after initial, first-time install (like AD and Any Video Converter and XMedia Recode do)?

Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Maybe handbrake 0.9.3.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Baldrick View Post
    Maybe handbrake 0.9.3.
    I ditto that, Ripbot264 may be worth a look, but i find it that it sometimes has problems with audio sync when encoding DVD to MKV.
    Murphy's law taught me everything I know.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Hi, thanks!