VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi all,
    EDIT: Just read and saw how much i have written. Ever so sorry but if anyone can spare the time for a quick read id appreciate.

I am a complete noob to Bluray ripping but not such a noob as I have been into dvd ripping for years.
    Since purchasing my BD drive i have been using anydvd to decrypt the disc and use for storing til i convert.

The probs I have is I used to use my PS3 to watch my DivX files from dvds which quality is ok. As a PS3 cant play MKV files im stuck and not prepared to convert to MP4 as I want to keep the audio & video uncompressed if its a heavily graphical film. Some films i wont mind being AC3 etc.
    I am looking into a samsung BD6900 as it can stream MKVs off my computer and also read them off a HDD which seems pretty decent for not a lot of money. Anyone look into this and make sure its ok for my needs.

MakeMKV: I have this and its very tidy and neat, makes a quick uncompressed copy of a MKV file but they are quite big in size.

I have been trying out DVDfab ripper - I take it that MKV remux profile is the same as what makeMKV does?
    MKV audiocopy profile - The audio setting say audio passthrough - So is this the audio is uncompressed and the movie is compressed? Not sure on the bitrate and movie size settings.

Then there is M2TS. Once I have decrypted using Anydvd can I literally just copy & paste the film file from the stream folder to play through my PS3 or does this need to be converted?

DVDfab has a M2TS setting: M2TS passthrough profile setting which when converted is the same size as the original file. Is there any point in doing this, can i not use the file from the decryption.
    Then DVDfab has a M2TS profile which is compressed file output which brings size from 25gb to 8gb.

Last and final question. MKV/ H264 or M2TS. WHich is the better file to use. Say for PS3 and streaming. And for quality.