VideoHelp Forum

Try StreamFab Downloader and download from Netflix, Amazon, Youtube! Or Try DVDFab and copy Blu-rays! or rip iTunes movies!

Try StreamFab Downloader and download streaming video from Youtube, Netflix, Amazon! Download free trial.

+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. We record soccer matches from satellite tv and we want to stream them from a Wowza Media server (v3.0.3).

The recordings are mpeg2 transport steams (ts files). Wowza required MP4 containers so we encode those video's using handbrake to MP4 (h264). We choose h264 because we want to support both RTMP and (Apple) HLS streaming.

So far so good. Handbrake produces great quality video but there is one problem; they all have a slight stutter in both audio and video. We've tried adjusting every settings in the advances settings tab but I can't seem to get rid of that stutter. The stutter is always there on certain moments in the video. The original TS video doesn't have this problem.

I'm not an expert in video encoding so I'm asking you if you have any tips, hints or leads that can help me fix this issue?

Here's a link with a (partial) clip that display the stutter behavior: https://test.marviq.net.s3.amazonaws.com/fbm/video.m4v
    This is the preset that I've used: https://test.marviq.net.s3.amazonaws.com/fbm/HLS.plist
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Yep, it stutters a lot and vlc shows the framerate as 25.92... fps.

Try set the frame rate to 25fps instead of Same as source under Video->Framerate(FPS) in handbrake.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Hi Baldrick,

Thanks for replying. That's one of the first things I've checked. It makes no difference. Here's an clip rendered at 25fps.

https://test.marviq.net.s3.amazonaws.com/fbm/video25fps.m4v
    Quote Quote  
  4. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Post the details from the source mpeg2 ts. Use mediainfo.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Here it is:

Quote Quote