VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I am quite a newbie here, but I already tried hundred of programs to get anything out of the .ts files
    created by a TNT decoder, with mixed SD/HD flows from commercial channels.

VLC can play the file, but not the Audio alternates, nor the subtitles. Same for Mplayer and WMP,
    although Mplayer can select the English Audio. VLC converts only to a silent .mp4 or .mpg

When I use M4ngv3, I got very little. ProjectX makes 3 audio tracks called .ac3, but practically nothing can play them or convert.

However the worst is for the subtitles. On the TV, or with the TNT decoder, they are 'normal', with
    separated letters on a gray box.

When demuxed by ProjectX, .sup files are created (and ifo or idx). But DVDSubedit or Suprip
    can read the 'image' produced, where the letters are 'expanded' (they are touching each others
    and much larger than on screen), and the OCR process does not find anything.

I tried to extract .bmp pictures, but they are also quite unreadable.

Am I doing something wrong, or has anyone done this before ?

TIA.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    First : the English and international wording for French "TNT" is DVB (DVB-T for terrestrial and DVB-S for satellite) ,with that you will find more easily what you look for...

I can read with VLC all audio tracks and subtitle ,perhaps VLC and your DVB recorder do not like each other.Have you got a recent version of VLC ? Some DVB recorder do not record all tracks but you say projectx can extract some subtitle tracks...

For subtitles ,since you are obviously French you will find most interesting stuff there :
    http://www.beepmaster.com/handisol/enregistrer-tnt-avec-sous-titres.php
    You will find there how to convert "teletext" and "DVB" subtitles,, to SRT but for "DVD" subtitles that are broadcasted on DVB I do not know whether anyone has an answer. I'm trying now, I will warn you if I succeed ...