VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I am a noob to video capturing on PC, so I'm looking for some advice on this. To start, the reason I am looking into video capturing, is to build this to work with my Playstation 3:

http://ladyada.net/make/adalight/

As it stands, this only works for PC videos/gaming video outputs. I have posted on their forums, my theory on getting it to work for the Playstation 3. I have been advised that in theory, my plan should work, but they are not sure if lag may become an issue here. So now I am posting this question here.

I will be using an HDMI splitter to send video feeds directly to my TV, and a 2nd feed to my computer. I am looking into my options for a Video Capture Device or card for my PC, with little to no lag. As far as straight feed to TV, I would like it to be 1080p, but for the capture on my computer Quality can be compromised (720p is fine) and to a certain extent the FPS. Sound is not important for this to work, as it has no bearing on what colours the LED lights will display (and I mention this, in hopes that cutting off sound may reduce the lag). Also for this to work, it is not necessary to actually record what is being fed, but to have just a full screen video feed on the PC.

I don't want to spend too much money on this, but willing to weigh my options of price vs less lag. Can anyone suggest what capture devices I should purchase?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I can't promise you it will work for your project, but the AverMedia HD DVR (PCI-e) is the least expensive HDMI capture device available. It allows watching/recording up to 1080i video, and stereo audio. It provides uncompressed video, and relies on software for encoding captures. Some people report no discernable lag just watching video with this card (not capturing), but other people report a little lag. You need a powered HDMI splitter in order to feed the capture card and a TV.