VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. I'm a noob, but looking to edit video taken with a Flip in 720p. Running Windows 7. I was looking at a few of these:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_video_editing_software#Open_source_software
    Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    What kind of editing did you have mind?

Lightworks = Steep learning curve. Doesn't support many input sources.
    Avisynth =Complex. You "code"/script everything.
    VLMC =Very buggy.
    Avidemux =Not that advanced, filters, basic joining and cuttting.

Maybe is Windows Live Movie Maker a better alternative.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    I'd try AVIDemux. I use Virtualdub more often, which is similar. But AVIDemux works with more codecs natively. If you plan to do a lot of intensive editing and filtering, Avisynth is useful. But it's a command line program, so not so easy to use.

And you should be aware with highly compressed codecs like H.264, Divx or similar, that you can't make cuts just anywhere. It's the nature of the codec, not the editor. Most times you want to cut on keyframes (I frames) or you risk video breakup and audio sync problems. Or you can re-encode just at the cut point to avoid re-encoding the whole video. Virtualdub has a 'smart rendering' function that makes this easier.

Highly compressed codecs use widely spaced I frames. An I frame is a full frame of video. Divx uses about 300 I frame spacing for example. In between the I frames are just partial frames that are the difference in the video to the next full I frame. Makes frame accurate editing a real PITA.
    Quote Quote  
  4. What are your thoughts on VideoLAN Movie Creator?

By input sources, do you mean importing video into the program directly, or the file types?