VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have written a few walking books and articles and now want to start publishing (selling!) my walks by way of video slideshows. I am completely new to video though. I have Proshow producer on which I have been producing my slideshows. I want the slideshows to be downloadable and then playable on tv, iphones (and other smartphones), ipads, pcs and any other mobile devices.

The trouble is, there are pre defined settings for all these in proshow producer (eg iphone 3, iphone 4, ipad etc) but if I was to produce a video file for each device (varying output size it is giving me varies from approx 100Mb to around 700Mb for ipad version) I would have 20 plus different videos available just for each walk - giving me a massive file storage problem.

Therefore is there (say) maybe one, two or three general format types that I could use that would work on all devices? I can get outputs in the form of avi or mpeg4 (say) but then there are various options for these (avc, sp, bit rates etc) - all very confusing to me! Is there a sort of default format and setting?

Ideally I would like to have (say) a maximum of 3 files for each walk, but that then anyone with any device would then be able to get one of these 3 files to work on their device.

Any help / advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    You may be asking the immpossible there.

Just as an example, I looked at the Blackberry. Their documentation lists some 20+ different phones and each of these support different video formats.

MP4 appears to be common to most but MP4 is not a video format. It is a container for a video codec and an audio codec.

Apple, AFAIK, also use MP4 but with a different codec structure.

You will also have issues with video sizes. A video created for a small screen device will look like sh*t on a tablet.