VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Sep 2011
    Location: surat
    Search Comp PM
    hi friend,

    searched many threads in this forum, found several answers but not getting it.

    I am trying to play video from my hdmi out satellite set top box. I have tried as given below.

    1. I bought LED 22 - BenQ G2222HDL full HD Monitor (has D-Sub, DVI-D input).
    2. I bought HDMI to DVI-D convertor cable from ebay.
    3. I have connected my monitor with media box with that cable.

    found no display is there

    any good way to play video? any adapter?

    Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  2. No HDCP, probably won't work. Plus using a PC monitor connected this way, probably won't work.

    Did your #3 result in a functional display? That should work.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date: Aug 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    I looked at the specs for that monitor, and it is supposed to be HDCP compliant. I think the problem is probably that the monitor isn't receiving a DVI video signal.

    An HDMI connection is backwards compatible with an incoming single-link DVI video signal, so a DVI signal sent over an HDMI cable is should provide a picture on a TV or monitor when using an HDMI port for input.

    However, the reverse is not true. A DVI-only monitor is not able to use the full range of signals allowed under the HDMI spec. If the satellite receiver is not transmitting an HDMI video signal that matches something allowed by the DVI spec, a DVI monitor can't display the video.
    Last edited by usually_quiet; 26th Sep 2011 at 18:22. Reason: clarity
    Quote Quote  
  4. Nevermind. I read something incorrectly.
    Last edited by jagabo; 26th Sep 2011 at 21:40.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2004
    Location: Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by krishn View Post
    hi friend,

    searched many threads in this forum, found several answers but not getting it.

    I am trying to play video from my hdmi out satellite set top box. I have tried as given below.

    1. I bought LED 22 - BenQ G2222HDL full HD Monitor (has D-Sub, DVI-D input).
    2. I bought HDMI to DVI-D convertor cable from ebay.
    3. I have connected my monitor with media box with that cable.

    found no display is there

    any good way to play video? any adapter?

    Thanks
    A computer monitor is progressive only. It will not accept 1080i or 480i interlace video.

    Your monitor choices are 480p, 720p or 1080p. My guess is your satellite set top box only outputs 480i, 720p or 1080i, so try 720p.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date: Sep 2011
    Location: surat
    Search Comp PM
    thanks all for several quick response.

    my satellite box model is openbox s10 which support Multiple display mode: 1080i/720p/576p/576i/480p;

    here is specification : h++p://www.openboxs10.info/?page_id=17
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2004
    Location: Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by krishn View Post
    thanks all for several quick response.

    my satellite box model is openbox s10 which support Multiple display mode: 1080i/720p/576p/576i/480p;

    here is specification : h++p://www.openboxs10.info/?page_id=17
    Select a p mode
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date: Sep 2011
    Location: surat
    Search Comp PM
    ok ... tried with all format given in remote... no success
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2004
    Location: Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    576i and 1080i won't work with a computer monitor.

    Keep trying with 576p then 720p.

    You need to set output format in sat box output settings.
    Last edited by edDV; 27th Sep 2011 at 04:14.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date: Sep 2011
    Location: surat
    Search Comp PM
    thanks edDv,

    tried with 576p and 720p but no success.

    I also come to know new things by looking my provided dvi-d cable of monitor from benQ.

    find socket in given image, left column, second image.



    my hdmi to dvi-d cable has actually dl-dvi-d socket.

    is my cable wrong? do i need hdmi to dvid single link cable?

    thanks
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2004
    Location: Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by krishn View Post
    thanks edDv,

    tried with 576p and 720p but no success.

    I also come to know new things by looking my provided dvi-d cable of monitor from benQ.

    find socket in given image, left column, second image.



    my hdmi to dvi-d cable has actually dl-dvi-d socket.

    is my cable wrong? do i need hdmi to dvid single link cable?

    thanks
    Typical HDMI is single link. That translates to DVI-D as single link (center left connector shows pins used).

    Your HDMI->DVI-D cable may have more pins but only the single link pins are used.

    Another test, borrow a DVD player with HDMI out. Test the cable and monitor at 480p, 576p and 720p out from DVD player. Some DVD players and most Blu-Ray players support 1080p out as well. If those work, the problem is related to your sat receiver settings.
    Last edited by edDV; 27th Sep 2011 at 14:16.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date: Sep 2011
    Location: surat
    Search Comp PM
    well I have to arrange dvd player with hdmi out.

    but is it possible that problems is due to monitor supports video input of 60hz and satellite box video out is 50hz?

    thanks
    Quote Quote  
  13. Originally Posted by krishn View Post
    well I have to arrange dvd player with hdmi out.
    Many upscaling DVD players with HDMI out will require HDCP. So if HDCP handshake is the problem using a DVD player may not help.

    Originally Posted by krishn View Post
    but is it possible that problems is due to monitor supports video input of 60hz and satellite box video out is 50hz?
    I suppose that's possible. But if the monitor is sold in PAL regions I would expect it to support 50 Hz refresh.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date: Sep 2011
    Location: surat
    Search Comp PM
    I found supported frq. given below. not showing 50hz

    Quote Quote  
  15. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2004
    Location: Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by krishn View Post
    I found supported frq. given below. not showing 50hz

    25 Hz (interlaced) should be = 50i. Maybe that monitor can accept 576i or 1080i. Try them in 25Hz mode.

    Otherwise feed it 50hz from your computer display card and see if it works.

    My Samsung SyncMaster only accepts 60 Hz.

    Name:  Syncmaster.png
Views: 9621
Size:  33.4 KB
    Last edited by edDV; 28th Sep 2011 at 16:31.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  16. hi everyone!I succeeded to connect a media player with my pc monitor.But what about the sound?I connected speakers via rca cable and then via scart to the media player but the sound can barely be heared...Any ideas?What have you done about the sound?Thanks indeed.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date: Aug 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by harris89 View Post
    hi everyone!I succeeded to connect a media player with my pc monitor.But what about the sound?I connected speakers via rca cable and then via scart to the media player but the sound can barely be heared...Any ideas?What have you done about the sound?Thanks indeed.
    The audio output from the media player needs to be amplified somehow. Connecting directly to speakers won't work unless they are amplified speakers.

    You can connect the media player and speakers through an amplifier, if you have one. If you don't have an amplifier, you can connect the media player with your computer's 3.5 mm audio line in and use your computer speakers. A male mini-phone stereo 3.5 mm to male RCA Y-adapter cable can be used to connect the media player to your computer.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads