VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. hi im new to this and new to converting i have a film which is mkv-dts now i tried to used popcorn to convert the audio to mkv ac3 but when it does the last stage i get message process wait extracting the file but then i left it for a hour or so and still nothing but i did get a message when i installed popcorn about im using windows 7 64bit and the version i installed was 32 bit version and asked me to install the 64bit versaion but they isnt one can someone help please be very much appreciated
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    I can't comment on popcorn but for audio conversion use the program EAC3TO. You can convert dts to ac3 with it.
    Donatello - The Shredder? Michelangelo - Maybe all that hardware is for making coleslaw?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Programs I use to convert MKV with DTS to MKV with ac3.

I demux the MKV with MKVExtractGUI2.exe

I usually convert the extracted DTS to ac3 with MeGui 1989 that version works best for me.
    I make sure that I do not let it load any updates because sooner or later the updates makes the program useless.
    I don't ever use it on the video but it works great for doing audio.

I some times convert with XMedia Recode. It will actually convert without de-muxing.

I sometimes use DAudioK. It always works but doesn't produce an ac3 larger than 448 kbs.

Using MeGui the conversion from DTS to 640 or 448 ac3 takes about 6-7 minutes. The de-muxing takes about 10-15 min

Since My players wont play sup subtitles I have to de-mux anyway to convert the sups to srt.

When I re-mux the mkv I just replace the DTS with ac3 and the sup with srt. while I'm moving it over to my storage disk.

I don't know why but there are really no simple gui programs for just converting DTS to Ac3 like AftenGui for PCM to Ac3.

Tony
    Quote Quote