VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Erlanger Ky
    Search Comp PM
    Hi There,

    Yes i'm new to video but not to imaging in general as I've been a still shooter for quite some time.

    So a videographer friend of mine told me to download MPEG Streamclip for Mac in order to transcode
    video to edit in Final Cut Express. So I've done that but I cannot find " Apple Prores 422 " within the listing
    of export formats which he is telling me to transcode it to.

    Am I missing something???

    -blanco-
    Quote Quote  
  2. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    thread should be moved to mac section for a better chance of a mac user's answer. but i think prores422 is a codec that only comes with final cut pro.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    FC Express can capture direct to AIC (Apple Intermediate Codec).

    What is the source format? AIC is an 8bit 4:2:0 codec better matched to most consumer and prosumer formats.

    ProRes422 is 8bit or 10bit 4:2:2 sampled. 4:2:0 source goes through a lossy resample.

    Keep in mind that DVD and Blu-Ray are 4:2:0.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    ProRes 422 Encoder only comes with FCP/FCS (mac only $$), or with DVS Clipster (turnkey only $$$$), or with Telestream's encoders (Vantage/Episode/etc - Mac & PC $$$), or using hardware encoders such as AJA or others ($$$).

    Decoder now comes included free with QT as of version 7.6.6 or higher (PC & Mac).

    ProRes 4444 is still a problem on the PC (no decoder only, just those costly options mentioned above.

    *Note the encoder DOESN'T come with FC Express (or iMovie, for that matter).

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  5. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    This thread is probably better in the Mac Forum. Moving you.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    dFAQ.us/lordsmurf
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Cornucopia View Post
    ProRes 422 Encoder only comes with FCP/FCS (mac only $$), or with DVS Clipster (turnkey only $$$$), or with Telestream's encoders (Vantage/Episode/etc - Mac & PC $$$), or using hardware encoders such as AJA or others ($$$).
    This is the answer.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads