VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    How would a 1080p video look on a 720p TV? Would it look exactly the same as it would if the video were recorded in 720p, or would it be worse?

What about a 720p video on a 1080p TV? Would there be a 1-to-1 pixel mapping, so that there's a black border around the video? Or does the video get stretched out to fit the TV? I imagine it wouldn't look so good if that's the case.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    I'm no expert, but I would guess it would be downscaled or upscaled by the TV to fit the screen. How that looks depends on the circuitry in the TV. But I've never noticed any serious quality loss either way.
    Quote Quote  
  3. i hv all branded HD TV / BD player and sound system.
    i do not feel much difference in DVD-SD, 720 HD or 1080 HD except video sharpness (which comes from higher bit rate naturally), plus additional DTS Audio track in case of BD. Some original DVDs have DTS too!

some original DVD-SD (AR: 16:9, 2CH AC-3) automatically unconverted to HD 5.1ch AC-3 to fill 16:9 big screen by hardware circuitry. some original DVDs (not downloaded stuff) give almost same sharp picture quality as BD, as well, very hard to notice difference. Many times I get original DVDs and BDs for very cheap in local retailers deals where exchange with same title is possible. just in case if it is scratched.

But, i am not a hardware expert either.
    Quote Quote  
  4. My TV only does 1080i and when fed 1080p it simply says unsupported format.
    When fed 720p, it simply switches to that mode.
    My conclusion is that if you fed 1080p to a TV that could only do 720p, it would simply do the same as mine does.
    That is also based on my experience with computer monitors dating back to green screens <G>.
    As far as HD recception goes, my TV simply works. I don't know what it does, but I got HD both on cable and over the air.