VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3
1 2 3 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello,
    NooB here. I have been having trouble getting the proper aspect ratio and resolution when capturing from JVC 40000U using CapDVHS and firewire.The data list defaults to 720 x 480 and 4:3. It does not matter if it is a tape or using pass-thru. The capture is the same. I don't know how to change these parameters and cannot find a solution. This is the only program I found that I can use and to capture without recording to tape first. I have it connected to my DirecTV H20 S-Video and to my firewire on computer. No Firewire on STB. The tapes I make look near HD quality, but when I transfer to Windows 7 PC, the image degrades and aspect ratio is not widescreen and squished. Is there a solution for changing these data parameters?

Thank you in advance
    Last edited by ckp; 16th Jun 2011 at 19:07.
    Quote Quote  
  2. 720x480 is the usual frame size for standard definition NTSC video. The display aspect ratio is 4:3 even though the frame size aspect ratio is 3:2.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Okay. Can I change it? I have an HD set top box with an HD signal. The tapes display the correct format and quality on my HDTV when played via the JVC 40000.

Thanks
    Last edited by ckp; 16th Jun 2011 at 19:07.
    Quote Quote  
  4. 720x480 is what comes over the firewire. All CapVHS does it take what comes in and puts it in a file. You can change it by you will be resizing and reencoding.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    720x480 is what comes over the firewire. All CapVHS does it take what comes in and puts it in a file. You can change it by you will be resizing and reencoding.