VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2009
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Hello,

    I looked in System Configuration on my W7 Ultimate.....There are 80 systems running. Which ones can I shut off to make my pc run faster with W7 and not mess it up. This is just after I rebooted I didn't have anything open yet. Thanks

    Name:  System Config #2.JPG
Views: 49
Size:  79.9 KB
    Name:  System Config #1.JPG
Views: 49
Size:  80.8 KBName:  System Config.JPG
Views: 39
Size:  70.3 KBName:  System Config #3.JPG
Views: 48
Size:  80.3 KBName:  System Config #4.JPG
Views: 46
Size:  80.5 KB
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member pirej's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2008
    Location: Macedonia
    Search Comp PM
    There are a lot of "tweaking tip's " on the net, check tweakhound.com
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2005
    Location: UK
    Search Comp PM
    Or BlackViper's site.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member Krispy Kritter's Avatar
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: St Louis, MO USA
    Search Comp PM
    Most of them are used in some manner or another in everyday operation. Disabling any of them won't give you any big performance increases. The biggest impact on performance, is system speed (cpu and motherboard chipset) and RAM. For Win7, you should be running 4GB.
    Google is your Friend
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member johns0's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2002
    Location: canada
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Krispy Kritter View Post
    For Win7, you should be running 4GB.
    neworldman is running 16gb ram already,also look in the startup tab and see what's starting up and what can be disabled.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member Krispy Kritter's Avatar
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: St Louis, MO USA
    Search Comp PM
    Sorry, didn't see the system specs. Seems irrelevant on an i7 PC.
    Google is your Friend
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date: May 2001
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    A lot of your services just lie dormant and don't use much, if any, processing power. Run "Process Explorer" from Winternals to find out what is consuming all of your CPU cycles - it's probably Kaspersky AV taking quite a bit. KAV might have a problem with the Windows Firewall.

    And, as a matter of course, I would delete/uninstall/trash all the Apple shit, but that's just me.
    ICBM target coordinates:
    26 14' 10.16"N -- 80 16' 0.91"W
    Quote Quote  
  8. That's just your system, but in your browser you can turn off plugins you don't need & then they won't try to update & slow things.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads