VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 4
FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 31 to 60 of 108
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: quebec
    Search Comp PM
    LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI_2008_x86\tools\avisynth_plugin\checkma te.dll")
    LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI_2008_x86\tools\ffms\ffms2.dll")
    FFVideoSource("F:\100 limites\Sample2 (12 40 am).avi").AssumeFPS(30.116)
    AssumeTFF()
    ColorYUV(cont_y=-10, cont_u=-80, cont_v=-80)

    ConvertToYV12(interlaced=true)
    Checkmate()
    Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  2. In that last video the darks are too dark and the brights too bright:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	hist.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	71.7 KB
ID:	7400

    You should use Histogram() or VideoScope() to check your levels.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: quebec
    Search Comp PM
    i'll check that
    it's another part of the same capture ..
    it was a follow up on my ColorYUV(Levels="PC->TV") question

    i tried ConvertToYV12(matrix="PC.601") and gave me an error
    Last edited by smartel; 16th Jun 2011 at 18:17.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by smartel View Post
    i'll check that
    it's another part of the same capture ..
    it was a follow up on my ColorYUV(Levels="PC->TV") question

    i tried ConvertToYV12(matrix="PC.601") and gave me an error
    You're wasting your time with those. They are basically presets for ~ColorYUV(cont_y=-36, off_y=-2).
    Last edited by jagabo; 16th Jun 2011 at 19:03.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: quebec
    Search Comp PM
    those presets saves me time , i think
    i'm still a newbie in all of that
    if i had a better idea how to translate into numbers ; i'd do it
    maybe have you got some reading to suggest to me ?
    i could try some commands in the ColorYUV wiki page
    Quote Quote  
  6. Originally Posted by smartel View Post
    those presets saves me time , i think
    Only if ColorYUV(cont_y=-36, off_y=-2) is exactly what you want to do. Otherwise you're just blindly applying a fixed levels adjustment. It's like saying you buy size 10 shoes because that's the size your brother wears. It may not be the right size for you!

    Originally Posted by smartel View Post
    i'm still a newbie in all of that
    if i had a better idea how to translate into numbers ; i'd do it
    maybe have you got some reading to suggest to me ?
    i could try some commands in the ColorYUV wiki page
    off_y moves the whole graph up
    gain_y stretches the graph from the bottom
    cont_y stretches the graph from the middle
    gamma_y is a non-linear stretch from the bottom (brings out shadow detail)
    Name:  start.png
Views: 117
Size:  1.1 KB off_y=64 --> Name:  offy.png
Views: 120
Size:  1.1 KB

    Name:  start.png
Views: 117
Size:  1.1 KB gain_y=64 --> Name:  gainy.png
Views: 120
Size:  1.1 KB

    Name:  start.png
Views: 117
Size:  1.1 KB cont_y=128 --> Name:  conty.png
Views: 126
Size:  240.8 KB

    Name:  start.png
Views: 121
Size:  1.1 KB gamma_y=256 --> Name:  gammay.png
Views: 123
Size:  1.1 KB

    Negative values move the graph down or compress the range.
    Last edited by jagabo; 16th Jun 2011 at 19:42.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2003
    Location: dFAQ.us/lordsmurf
    Search Comp PM
    I agree with very little in this thread so far.

    MPEG-2 I-frame @ 20Mbit is fine.
    I would not lighten/crush the levels at all. ATI is quite accurate. Sources may be off, however. Adjust for source only.
    A better VCR should be used. The 5800 is rather low-end, lacks TBC. You need an internal JVC TBC, based on images shown.
    TMPGEnc is a noisy encoder. It works, but you need to use higher-than-normal bitrates.

    I've covered all of this before, both at this site, and at http://www.digitalFAQ.com/forum/dvd-video
    Find my posts here, any Site Staff post there, and get to reading.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: quebec
    Search Comp PM
    this must be one of my worst tape

    and my 5800 is fine , i'm not aiming for perfection , vcrs are hard to find now

    and i will use avstodvd (HCenc) for encoding

    and i will try your suggestions , thanks to all for your patience

    and for MCTemporalDenoise() my cpu is an athlon xp only supports sse and not sse2 nor sse3 so i think i can't use it
    Last edited by smartel; 17th Jun 2011 at 14:23.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Originally Posted by smartel View Post
    and my 5800 is fine , i'm not aiming for perfection , vcrs are hard to find now
    A S-VHS deck with a line TBC will get you much better caps.

    Originally Posted by smartel View Post
    and for MCTemporalDenoise() my cpu is an athlon xp only supports sse and not sse2 nor sse3 so i think i can't use it
    You can probably get it to work but it will be very slow. Try TTempSmooth() for simpler temporal noise reduction.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: quebec
    Search Comp PM
    should i separate fields when using TTempSmooth ??
    Quote Quote  
  11. TTempSmooth() has an interlace flag. TTempSmooth(interlaced=true).
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: quebec
    Search Comp PM
    with this :
    AssumeTFF()
    ColorYUV(cont_y=-15, cont_u=-80, cont_v=-80)
    ConvertToYV12(interlaced=true)
    Checkmate()
    TTempSmooth(interlaced=true)

    Avstodvd produced this:
    Video = Import("F:\100 limites\Nouveau dossier\Source..avi.avs")

    Video = Video.ConvertToYV12
    Video = Video.ConvertFPS("ntsc_video")
    Video = Video.ColorMatrix(source=0,dest=2,interlaced=true)
    Video = Video.hqdn3d(10)
    Video = Video.AddBorders(4,0,4,0)
    Video = Video.Lanczos4Resize(720,480)

    Return Video

    i think it's an improvement ..maybe not perfect
    some things may be improved

    i did the whole capture again but with virtualdub and no sync issues
    gave me a slightly different file (712X480)

    oups my uploads didn't work ...
    Last edited by smartel; 17th Jun 2011 at 17:43.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: quebec
    Search Comp PM
    still didn't work ,, (my uploads) i give up
    Quote Quote  
  14. 30 MB limit here.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: quebec
    Search Comp PM
    i had 2 files one around 20MB and the other close to 27 i'll trim the bigger one
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: quebec
    Search Comp PM
    here it is
    Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  17. That looks fairly good given the quality of your source.

    I don't know why you would need ColorMatrix(source=0,dest=2,interlaced=true) but the colros do look a little better.

    I don't know any way to get rid of those hum bars (the waves that move slowly down the frame) after capturing. Are they on the original tape or only after capturing?
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: quebec
    Search Comp PM
    that was a 709>601 matrix type of color convertion thing
    didn't seam to hurt much ,
    my blacks and whites were a little more than borderline
    Last edited by smartel; 17th Jun 2011 at 21:58.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: quebec
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    I don't know any way to get rid of those hum bars (the waves that move slowly down the frame) after capturing. Are they on the original tape or only after capturing?
    this was probably a dub (2nd gen)
    electrical interference maybe !?
    was even maybe taped onto a previously recorded tapes
    and not the highest grade one
    errors tend to had up.. dirty heads may be in the chain too
    i had some tapes , when i was young living in appartment, recorded with rabbit-ears
    not the strongest signal
    Quote Quote  
  20. Originally Posted by smartel View Post
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    I don't know any way to get rid of those hum bars (the waves that move slowly down the frame) after capturing. Are they on the original tape or only after capturing?
    this was probably a dub (2nd gen)
    electrical interference maybe !?
    Yes, of course. But the question is -- is it on the tape or did it occur while capturing. If it occurred while capturing there are ways to prevent it.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member themaster1's Avatar
    Join Date: Nov 2006
    Location: France
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by smartel View Post
    here it is

    My attempt: http://www.sendspace.com/file/uc9m6q

    I can't do better or it gets blurry real quick i'm affraid
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: quebec
    Search Comp PM
    i guess it is on the tape
    i would really like to know how to prevent those kind of errors
    it's been a long time since i hooked up a vcr to a tv set

    my pc and system is a temporarely setup
    i've got a room being made this summer where all my gear will be
    (musical , home theater and pc)

    very good themaster1 ; specially for the bottom part that was more distorted
    How did you do that ? how did you get all the chroma noise out ?

    my cpu (old athlon xp.. not that fast ) can't take some instructions (sse2 , sse3 .. i don't really know)

    i just try and try this and that ;and see what i can do , and trying (i said trying) to understand what i do

    i'm no pro
    Last edited by smartel; 17th Jun 2011 at 23:24.
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member
    Join Date: Sep 2007
    Location: Canada
    Search Comp PM
    I think you can still use any filter, the SSE2, SSE3 intructions sets just help speed up calculations. Most avisynth filters will fall back on the other instruction sets like MMX. It just will be a bit slower for you




    I suspect those undulating bars are remenants of the chroma noise not being completely removed. But your "source2.avi" and "output.m2v" aren't the same clips, so it's hard to say for sure. As for the underlying cause, not idea.

    Here is my go at it
    Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: quebec
    Search Comp PM
    would be fun if you shared your scripts ..

    in fact source2 is the very end of output.m2v i just edited it so i could post it here

    if i get good results doesn't bother me to wait a day or 2
    it's a 46 min capture
    Last edited by smartel; 18th Jun 2011 at 00:08.
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member
    Join Date: Sep 2007
    Location: Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by smartel View Post
    would be fun if you shared your scripts ..

    in fact source2 is the very end of output.m2v i just edited it so i could post it here

    Yep, no problem .

    I realize source2's and output.m2v's relationship, but if you look at your output.m2v, the undulating noise is not as noticable where the clips overlap. It's more noticable at the beginning, where there is no overlap - so it's hard so draw conclusions. Was there a different pattern going on?

    Actually I can replicate the undulating pattern if I remove the removedirtmc section of the script below, I thought was the edge of the chroma noise bars, but it's probably an underlying luminance frequency issue

    Because it moves field to field when you group even/odd fields, you can catch it with removedirtmc if you apply strong enough settings. If it didn't move that fast, you wouldn't be able to detect it with that filter

    Another approach might be to use FanFilter
    http://avisynth.org/vcmohan/FanFilter/FanFilter.html


    Code:
    AviSource()
    ConvertToYV12(interlaced=true)
    Checkmate()
    Chubbyrain2()
    FFT3DFilter(sigma=6, bt=3, plane=3, interlaced=true)
    SmoothLevels(0,1,255,15,245,chroma=200)
    SmoothTweak(saturation=0.85)
     
    AssumeTFF()
    SeparateFields()
    f1=SelectEven().RemoveDirtMC(50,false).TTempSmooth(maxr=4, lthresh=24, cthresh=4, strength=4).LSFMod(strength=50)
    f2=SelectOdd().RemoveDirtMC(50,false).TTempSmooth(maxr=4, lthresh=24, cthresh=4, strength=4).LSFMod(strength=50)
    Interleave(f1,f2) 
    Weave()
     
    Spline36Resize(720,480)
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: quebec
    Search Comp PM
    different pattern .. i just applied the scripts in post #42

    i'll try your script
    I may not have all the plugins to do it right now i'll search them
    it's getting a little technical , english isn't even my 1st language
    but one step at the time , slowly getting there

    hoping it'll work for the whole capture (and similar one)
    well i've got homework to do , thx a lot for your help . it's really usefull

    all of this will surely help me in the futur to deal with future captures
    Quote Quote  
  27. Chubbyrain2() did a good job at removing the hum bars.
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member
    Join Date: Sep 2007
    Location: Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    Chubbyrain2() did a good job at removing the hum bars.
    You think it was chubbyrain2? ?

    If I remove the RemoveDirtMC / TTempSmooth section from the script above, those undulating bars return

    Or maybe you're using different combo of filters ?
    Quote Quote  
  29. I had the op's filter chain with, CheckMate() and hqdn3d(10) sitting on my desktop (still had hum bars), and added Chubbyrain2() after Checkmate(). But yes, ChubbyRain2() alone doesn't remove the hum bars.
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: quebec
    Search Comp PM
    i've never worked with auto loading script ..

    FFT3DFilter cannot load FFT3DFilter.dll error # OK solved !

    for smoothlevel what dll should i call in my script ??
    smoothajust SMVC or ICC ? Both ??
    i guess it's x86 notx64 (xp pro 32 bits) #OK Solved

    should i call every dll individually ?? that's what i try to do now..to avoid each error that avisynth gives me ..

    i think i've got a little difficulty to setup this chain

    maybe these individual fonctions are part of bigger more pratical combo filters ?

    maybe i should post my entire script ?
    LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI_2008_x86\tools\avisynth_plugin\TTempSm ooth.dll")
    LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI_2008_x86\tools\avisynth_plugin\RemoveD irt.dll")
    LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI_2008_x86\tools\avisynth_plugin\checkma te.dll")
    LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI_2008_x86\tools\ffms\ffms2.dll")
    LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI_2008_x86\tools\avisynth_plugin\mt_mask tools.dll")
    LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI_2008_x86\tools\avisynth_plugin\bifrost .dll")
    LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI_2008_x86\tools\avisynth_plugin\cnr2.dl l")
    LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI_2008_x86\tools\avisynth_plugin\FFT3DFi lter.dll")

    FFVideoSource("F:\100 limites\Nouveau dossier\NATM.1989..avi").AssumeFPS(30000,1001)
    ConvertToYV12(interlaced=true)
    Checkmate()
    Chubbyrain2()
    FFT3DFilter(sigma=6, bt=3, plane=3, interlaced=true)
    SmoothLevels(0,1,255,15,245,chroma=200)
    SmoothTweak(saturation=0.85)

    AssumeTFF()
    SeparateFields()
    f1=SelectEven().RemoveDirtMC(50,false).TTempSmooth (maxr=4, lthresh=24, cthresh=4, strength=4).LSFMod(strength=50)
    f2=SelectOdd().RemoveDirtMC(50,false).TTempSmooth( maxr=4, lthresh=24, cthresh=4, strength=4).LSFMod(strength=50)
    Interleave(f1,f2)
    Weave()

    Spline36Resize(720,480)

    for now i'm up to the smoothlevels error solving tasks .. #OK solved

    removedirtmc now ... #OK solved (i think ?)
    removedirt now (no fonction even if it's called)

    someone ?
    Last edited by smartel; 18th Jun 2011 at 12:23.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads