VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 18 of 18
Thread
  1. So, here's my situation:

    I have two showrooms and 2 LCD TVs. I want to be able to view a website on a PC and have that website and audio transmitted to be viewed on the other TV simultaneously.

    I was hoping there would be some way I could send the video signal through the network and have some device connected to the TV's HDMI port that would take the signal (from wifi or ethernet) and convert it to HDMI or component.

    If possible, I'd like to do this for less than $100.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member budwzr's Avatar
    Join Date: Apr 2007
    Location: City Of Angels
    Search Comp PM
    Put the TVs on opposite sides of a common wall between the showrooms, and pass a cable through the wall.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Do you need to use the ethernet cable as a network cable at the same time, or just as a video cable?

    If just for video look for ethernet baluns. If you need to use the cable for data too you're looking at a lot more than $100. Look for video over ethernet adapters.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Well, it would be simplest if the data could be sent over the existing data network.

    I could download much of the material (it's in flash and all content links are hidden; downloads as tmp.tmp and is renamed to content.mov) and just have each TV play a DVD.

    Or

    Set up two small computers that just do playing of the content. I just don't want it obvious that there's a computer there.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by kevbodian View Post
    Well, it would be simplest if the data could be sent over the existing data network.
    You need something like this:
    http://www.startech.com/product/IP2DVI-Ethernet-to-DVI-Video-Adapter-over-IP

    Originally Posted by kevbodian View Post
    I could download much of the material (it's in flash and all content links are hidden; downloads as tmp.tmp and is renamed to content.mov) and just have each TV play a DVD.

    Or

    Set up two small computers that just do playing of the content. I just don't want it obvious that there's a computer there.
    You could use a pair of media players like the WDTV Live.
    http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=330
    They can access Windows shares via a wired network. There are wireless adapters available for those too.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date: Jul 2001
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Check monoprice for HDMI over ethernet(cat6). Not sure on pricing. In theory, you could have:

    - PC/HDMI to HDMI-enet
    - enet to room
    - enet/HDMI to HDMI on TVs (you could use a simple passive or active HDMI splitter here.

    Simplified, but I think doable. You're not talking about HDCP so that shouldn't get in the way.
    Have a good one,

    neomaine

    NEW! VideoHelp.com F@H team 166011!
    http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=166011

    Folding@Home FAQ and download: http://folding.stanford.edu/
    Quote Quote  
  7. Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    Originally Posted by kevbodian View Post
    Well, it would be simplest if the data could be sent over the existing data network.
    You need something like this:
    http://www.startech.com/product/IP2DVI-Ethernet-to-DVI-Video-Adapter-over-IP

    Originally Posted by kevbodian View Post
    I could download much of the material (it's in flash and all content links are hidden; downloads as tmp.tmp and is renamed to content.mov) and just have each TV play a DVD.

    Or

    Set up two small computers that just do playing of the content. I just don't want it obvious that there's a computer there.
    You could use a pair of media players like the WDTV Live.
    http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=330
    They can access Windows shares via a wired network. There are wireless adapters available for those too.

    I've seen the Startech adapter and it looks promising but it was out of my original budget. I also saw this: http://www.svideo.com/500058.html (although, this is just an extender via LAN cable... not an extender via LAN).

    For the Startech, it looks as though it would work because I could output my computer to the switch and then have the Startech adapter behind the TV and connected to an LAN outlet there. The distance (in cabling) may be over 100m, though.

    As for the Western Digital media player, it would work as long as it could display what my PC displays (like an extended desktop/desktop clone).

    Is there not something like the Dlink DPG-1200? It would be nice to just have the TV display a stream (whether it's the extended desktop or whatever the PC streams via server software).



    Originally Posted by neomaine View Post
    Check monoprice for HDMI over ethernet(cat6). Not sure on pricing. In theory, you could have:

    - PC/HDMI to HDMI-enet
    - enet to room
    - enet/HDMI to HDMI on TVs (you could use a simple passive or active HDMI splitter here.

    Simplified, but I think doable. You're not talking about HDCP so that shouldn't get in the way.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Monoprice FTW:

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10114&cs_id=1011403&p_id=...seq=1&format=2

    edit....

    won't display 720. That's the exact kind of part I am looking for. Lack of 720 isn't a deal-breaker, but 16:9 aspect is key.


    edit2:

    I think the best solution may be this:

    Network USB Hub from Monoprice

    with something like this:

    EVGA UV16

    and if necessary, I can install one of these:

    Gigabit Switch


    I actually just got a similar switch for my home on Newegg's shellshocker deal yesterday. Should've bought 2 !
    Last edited by kevbodian; 25th May 2011 at 13:34. Reason: ideas, ideas
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date: Jul 2001
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Have a good one,

    neomaine

    NEW! VideoHelp.com F@H team 166011!
    http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=166011

    Folding@Home FAQ and download: http://folding.stanford.edu/
    Quote Quote  
  10. Hey, that's pretty good. I just hope that TV has HDMI. I'm assuming that the sender box takes an HDMI signal as well. If that's the case, then I guess I'll need a cheap video card with HDMI out.
    Quote Quote  
  11. So, with the help of an application called "URL Snooper 2" and wget, I was able to download all the videos. Now since I can just put them into a playlist, I will connect the remote TV to a media player.

    I am looking at the following:

    Apple TV - looked at this but I don't think it's really appropriate
    Western Digital TV Live Plus - number 1 candidate

    seagate freeagent, asus o!play etc...

    I'm hoping to play from a network share folder. I'm also unsure if I want to use our backup NAS as the share or if I want to run a dedicated machine. The NAS/machine will be running 2x 2tb drives in raid1.

    Suggestions?
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date: Jul 2001
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    The only reason to get the WDTV Live Plus would be for Netflix, not needed here so it'll save some dollars. I'd lean toward the NAS for ease of use. Can always keep it running without the server/PC having to be on.
    Have a good one,

    neomaine

    NEW! VideoHelp.com F@H team 166011!
    http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=166011

    Folding@Home FAQ and download: http://folding.stanford.edu/
    Quote Quote  
  13. Originally Posted by neomaine View Post
    The only reason to get the WDTV Live Plus would be for Netflix
    And the fact that the WDTV Live isn't generally available anymore.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Originally Posted by neomaine View Post
    The only reason to get the WDTV Live Plus would be for Netflix, not needed here so it'll save some dollars. I'd lean toward the NAS for ease of use. Can always keep it running without the server/PC having to be on.
    That's a good point. I was going to run a Synology DS211J with 2x 2tb in raid1 at work, but I think at home I will connect a USB HDD to the wdtv and run the box as a media player AND NAS.


    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    Originally Posted by neomaine View Post
    The only reason to get the WDTV Live Plus would be for Netflix
    And the fact that the WDTV Live isn't generally available anymore.

    I bought the WDTV Live Plus at dell.ca for $99 shipped. I don't believe the live plus netflix will work in Canada but I may be wrong.

    I just noticed the regular WDTV Live is also $99. That may have been a good choice as, IIRC, you can install 3rd party firmware (B-rad's WDLXTV) and it has a sleeptimer so I can have it turn itself off after closing.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Originally Posted by kevbodian View Post
    I don't believe the live plus netflix will work in Canada but I may be wrong.
    It does now. You might need a firmware update.
    http://community.wdc.com/t5/General-Discussions/Netflix-for-Canada/td-p/59328

    Originally Posted by kevbodian View Post
    I just noticed the regular WDTV Live is also $99. That may have been a good choice as, IIRC, you can install 3rd party firmware (B-rad's WDLXTV) and it has a sleeptimer so I can have it turn itself off after closing.
    Firmware from b-rad soon:
    http://b-rad.cc/1295/wdlxtv-plus-for-wdtv-live-plus/
    Quote Quote  
  16. That plus firmware looks to be already available in perhaps a beta form. Thanks for checking that. I will install it if I can.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date: Jul 2001
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    Originally Posted by kevbodian View Post
    I don't believe the live plus netflix will work in Canada but I may be wrong.
    It does now. You might need a firmware update.
    http://community.wdc.com/t5/General-Discussions/Netflix-for-Canada/td-p/59328

    Originally Posted by kevbodian View Post
    I just noticed the regular WDTV Live is also $99. That may have been a good choice as, IIRC, you can install 3rd party firmware (B-rad's WDLXTV) and it has a sleeptimer so I can have it turn itself off after closing.
    Firmware from b-rad soon:
    http://b-rad.cc/1295/wdlxtv-plus-for-wdtv-live-plus/

    That's good stuff! Never knew it existed...
    Have a good one,

    neomaine

    NEW! VideoHelp.com F@H team 166011!
    http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=166011

    Folding@Home FAQ and download: http://folding.stanford.edu/
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2011
    Location: Alexandria, VA
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    Originally Posted by kevbodian View Post
    Well, it would be simplest if the data could be sent over the existing data network.
    You need something like this:
    http://www.startech.com/product/IP2DVI-Ethernet-to-DVI-Video-Adapter-over-IP
    I'm so glad you pointed to this. This product is no longer offered, but Startech now has an HDMI solution: http://www.startech.com/AV/Extenders/HDMI/HDMI-over-IP-Extender-with-Audio~IPUSB2HD2 . What's nice about the HDMI solution is that it remotes the sound as well.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads