VideoHelp Forum
Closed Thread
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, I am a Newbie and getting really confused with this formatting stuff. I have a PVR (only) that claims to be able to play mkv, DvdX-Xvid, VoB, Mpeg4, So fare I can back up my DVD's by Ripping them and they seem okay although they still have the Lines Top and Bottom.

My main question is what format can I rely on th be able to Download "DVDRip. XviD" and "MSV" Movie's to my PC HDD' then load them onto a 32 Gig USB stick" plug it into the PVR and play the files through my HD 1080 DTV (Sony Bravia)

I do not need to play any of these Movies - DVD Rip files on the computer. It's all about the PVR

I have just Downloaded a DVDRip 720 x 4?? in Matroska Format, I loaded it onto the USB and when I tried to play it on my PVR it stopped and said File Stopped.

I have had trouble with other DVDRip.XviD in AVI format just will not play' shows nothing but I can push the Stop Play button to stop it so again I think the PVR is not recognising the Files, the PVR is new and one of the most popular brands available. A lot of these Files Have WMC Player WNP and Mastroka Icons on them once downloaded BUT some will play others will not

To sum up What would be the best relaible format to convert MSV and DVDRip.XviD to so that they will work on my PVR without all this drama I have DVD Shrink, AvideMux, DVDx4, Aimersoft Ultimate,Video Edit Magic and also MediaInfo, Can someone tell me of way around all this is there a Video tutorial regards Dashas

2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Why can't you tell us the PVR brand and model? Or is it a secret??

And try google the pvr model name and you will probably find some specific forums with info.

Search Comp PM
    Thanks Baldrick, No it's not a problem and certainly no secret. I just did not think it was appropriate