VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Clear? Crystal.
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,

I'm not sure which category this should be in, so I'm just posting here. I am a newbie here on the site, and somewhere between beginner and intermediate with video-related work. I have a few problems with video projects I'm trying to do, but I'll just try to fix one at a time here. The first and most important problem is with VirtualDub.

I'm trying to import a WMV file into VirtualDub 1.9.11, and I have the DirectShow filter pack for VD. For some reason when I go to the menu in VD to open a video, it says in the 'Files of type' box menu, "AVIfile input driver (compat.) where DirectShow plugin should be. It's like VD is not recognizing the filter pack, and I have no idea why, because it should be.

Are the file destinations wrong? (I have them in C:\Program files\VirtualDub\plugins) Or do I need additional filters/codecs/etc.?

Help would be very much appreciated.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Try plugins32 instead of plugins. I think both work though. Once properly installed you should be able to use the Files of Type pulldown and select DirectShow Input Driver. By the way, that driver doesn't work very well. Maybe you'll be lucky.

If you're running the 64 bit version of VirtualDub you'll need a 64 bit DirectShow plugin. And it should go in the plugins64 folder.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Clear? Crystal.
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you very much. It works now. Now for a second problem, when I import the .WMV file, it says 'Missing Codec' in VD. Which specific codec is missing? I have many, but is there a special one to work with Directshow or VD?
    Quote Quote  
  4. What codecs are used in your WMV file? GSpot or MediaInfo can tell you. There's also a WMV source plugin for VirtualDub.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Clear? Crystal.
    Search Comp PM