VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I am new to all the varieties of video processing.

I am trying to do some conversion to this mp4 video

https://www.dspace.cam.ac.uk/bitstream/1810/226248/1/Nakane.mp4

When I try to use virtualdub to import it directly, it works OK. However, when I try to use avisynth script such as

V=DirectShowSource("file", convertfps=true, audio=false)
    A=DirectShowSource("file", video=False) # audio only (video renderer removed)
    AudioDub(V, A)

it also works (faster, due to audio processing I believe) but there are all sorts of colour artifacts and banding issues with the opened video. I have ffdshow installed. Not sure what have I missed.

Thanks for your kind help.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I also tried to open the .avs file using Windows Media Player and virtualdubmod but without any success. Very confused.
    Quote Quote  
  3. V=DirectShowSource("file", convertfps=true, audio=false)
    A=DirectShowSource("file", video=False) # audio only (video renderer removed)
    AudioDub(V, A)
    you need the extension, hopefully "file" means "file.mp4"

your directshow filters probably aren't organized properly . You probably need a mp4 splitter , like haali media splitter or gabest mp4 splitter

on win7 you need to use preferred filter tweaker

better yet, avoid directshow issues and use ffmpegsource2
    http://code.google.com/p/ffmpegsource/

e.g.
    aud = ffaudiosource("video.mp4")
    vid = ffvideosource("video.mp4")
    audiodub(vid,aud)

or

ffmpegsource2("video.mp4", atrack=-1)
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks poisondeathray. ffaudiosource route works for me. not sure about the ffmpegsource2 route.

I am not sure whether there should be a sequence of installing all these packages. I do have haali splitter installed.