VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I've been using CCE SP for several years now, but just recently made the switch from XP to Windows 7 However, I noticed that the program can no longer recognize any AVI codecs except for a raw uncompressed file. I always used to be able to import pretty much anything that was in an AVI container, and I've probably used the program on about 10 different XP installations over the years without a hitch.

I usually make my MPEG-2 files from HuffYuv files, but now when I go to encode the video with SP it says "codec HFYU not found." Well, the codec is definitely installed on my machine as I've been using it!

So... I tried installing CCE using XP Mode in the Virtual Machine, but got exactly the same problem. It simply does not understand any codecs. I have both SP1 and SP2 (old and new versions), and I get the same results no matter what. What gives?

I really don't want to move back to using uncompressed AVI for obvious reasons, so any insight would be greatly appreciated!
    Quote Quote  
  2. If you are running 64 bit Windows: 64 bit programs require 64 bit codecs, 32 bit programs require 32 bit codecs. In both cases you need to install a HuffYUV decoder, windows doesn't include one. And I'm pretty sure CCE requires VFW codecs, not DirectShow codecs.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    I used to use an old version of CCE but I long ago stopped using it and switched to HCenc. HCenc does work on 64 bit Windows 7 but you need to download the version 26 beta. Version 25 does not work.

Why are you encoding from AVI anyway? There are plenty of small form factor media players available to play AVI files.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Well, some things distracted me but here I am again at square one... Why can't CCE SP understand HuffYuv files in Windows 7?