VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    For any seasoned blu ray rippers out there see if you can help with this one!

I've had some experience copying DVD's in the past and have never had any problems with the copy process or the playback of these movies through a normal DVD player. Recently i purchase a Blu Ray burner hoping to have some similar success but i'm finding things aren't going too smoothly!

I'm using an LG BH10LS30 Blu Ray burner in an external box connected via USB to my desktop. The desktop is a few years old but has recently had windows 7 installed. It has 1GB Ram with an Intel Celeron 2GHz processor. I'm using DVD Fab to rip the movie and then to copy it onto a blank Sony dual layer blu ray (imported from Japan). I'm trying to play these movies on a 6 month old Sony BDP-S470. Normal movies work without an issue on this player.

The copy process is successful every time and appears to work when you put the movie in but somewhere around the 3/4 mark on almost every movie it starts jamming and making ear piercing noises. Once this happens it will jam and restart the blu ray player. It always jams in the same spot in that movie and will normally happen for about 3-5 chapters before clearing up again.

My initial thoughts are that somethings going wrong when it copies into the second layer on the blu ray and it cant play that content back correctly. I've updated the firmware for the player and cant find any firmware update for the burner.

Any ideas where the problem is and how to fix it?????
    Last edited by David86; 24th Apr 2011 at 03:58.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    What software are you using to burn the disc ? I would suggest Imgburn, which is also the preferred burning application for DL DVDs.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search PM