VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello!

I hope someone can help me with this, I tried to search the forum, but there are so many resources that I got lost, I'm looking for something simple!

I need to crop some mpg2 video I recorded from the web, I mean I need to cut a little bit of the screen of all 4 sides because I recorded too much of it. I'm looking for something simple and easy, that won't change the original quality too much.

I have Ulead Videostudio and Cyberlink powerdirector. Also Adobe premiere... but it's too difficult for me.

I don't mind the program, I can use whatever you suggest me... I just need something easy because I'm not really good at it.

Thank you very much to anyone who will help me!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    You could try the freeware AviDemux. Under video filters, there is a crop option. That program is fairly easy to use.

But a couple of things to be aware of. Cropping means you will have to re-encode the video. If it's MPEG-2, you can use the same format. You will lose some quality, but you could up the bitrate to lessen the loss. But that will also make the file larger.

Second thing, if this video is going to go on a DVD, then it has to be a certain size to meet the DVD specifications.

There are other video editors that can also do this. Some of our other members may suggest some.

And welcome to our forums.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    One other thing - I believe I am correct in saying this - if you are going to crop Mpeg2 video which is interlaced then you MUST deinterlace first otherwise you will destroy your video - it will have interlaced artifacts
    Quote Quote  
  4. I will try AviDemux. Thank you!

As for deinterlacing it, how can I do that with AviDemux? I said I was a newbie...
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by DB83 View Post