VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi all,

I am new to video ripping and I am having the hardest time. I have spent about 2 weeks now evaluating the glut of dvd ripper/converter software on the internet and I cannot, to save my life, find one that allows me to make an MPG (MPEG-2) file on my hard drive that, when I play it, looks exactly like how my DVD looks when I play it. I either get weird blocky pixelation or just blotchy gray areas where there ought to be black, if I can even get the thing to be widescreen at all. I don't know what I am doing wrong or if all of these programs just don't do a perfect copy from a DVD to an MPG.

I have the DVD files on my hard drive.

Can anyone help me find a program that will rip from DVD files on my hard drive to a MPG (MPEG-2) file with NO loss of video quality? I have tried them all and I just can't fricking figure this out. It's absolutely making me crazy.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Rip with the free dvdfab decrypter(ripping is free). Play the DVD Folder(VIDEO_TS) with VLC or MPCHC. Or if you really want a mpg file use then vob2mpg on the dvd folder.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Why do you need the mpg? If you are trying to make another dvd with a different authoring program virtually all of them should be able to import the vob files in the video_ts folder directly with no need to do anything else.

If you must absolutely have a mpg from your original vob use:

vob2mpg

For ripping use dvdfabdecrypter or if its homemade dvdshrink - though it may not like some dvd recorders - you can always use dvdfabdecrypter and shrink later if you need to. - I got double the number of titles on the disc from my liteon settop dvd recorder - I could still rip it but I had to play each clip to ensure which one was which since there was a double count shown.