VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I ripped a bunch episode DVDs to my hard drive thinking that because I was ripping straight from the dvd the quality would be pretty good. I used Cucsoft to convert to Xvid avi with the default bitrate of 2498. I am fairly new to encoding with CCE and other similar encoders and even newer to avisynth. I want to put 6 episodes to a disc, I realize that the quality is going to be reduced. But there is quite a bit of mosquito noise around the edges of everything or artifacts from compression, i'm not sure which. All attempts to clean up the video with avisynth have failed. Also the noise or artifacts are amplified after encoding to mpeg2. There has to be a better way all together. So back to the original question, what is the best way to rip the dvds to get a quality video to start with? then what is the best way to encode the video back to mpeg2?
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by MackSwagga View Post
    what is the best way to rip the dvds to get a quality video to start with? then what is the best way to encode the video back to mpeg2?
    First off....a DVD "rip" is an exact copy of the disc.....what you did is re-encode the original to the terribly inferior Xvid/Divx codec. The original quality is gone and gone for good.....and putting all 6 episodes back to a (single layer) disc will make it even worse than it already is.
    My advice...start over.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Slysoft CloneDVD Mobile ... is a very good program for ripping TV Episodes to a Divx/Xvid format ... you can adjust the size and even have it do 2 passes ... the quality looks very good.
    Quote Quote