VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I have a free foreign film that I want to burn into a DVD but I've never authored with a separate subtitle file and would really appreciate some advice. I have the main films VIDEO_TS folder with VOB, IFO, BUP file's and two separate sub files for the subtitled; one named "Your Free Film.fragment" and the other named "VTS_01_0" and I assume I can use either? But I'm not sure how to burn the film onto a DVD with the subtitle file.

I have various authoring programs but experimenting with them all has left me scratching my head.

I'm far from a pro at authoring so please take that into consideration!
    Last edited by Mark97213; 19th Mar 2011 at 23:08.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Sorry, but you would need to do considerable homwork to do this.

You need to extract the MPEG from the VOB files, and reauthor the DVD, combining with a subtitle.

No idea what "Your Free Film.fragment" is, and "VTS_01_0" could be anything. What is the file extension?
    Quote Quote  
  3. My original files are typical VOB files for burning onto a DVD, which are in the main folder titled "Your Free Film." In that folder are 2 folders named AUDIO_TS and VIDEO_TS and within the VIDEO_TS folder are VOB, IFO and BUP files which if you burn onto a DVD give you the entire movie, just minus the Subtitles.

The movie also came with 1 additional folder named SUB and within are 2 files, one titled "VTS_0_0" (with extension .sub) and "Your Free Film.fragment" (with extension .sub) so I assume they are both subtitle files to use with, each for whatever method of authoring you choose.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Mark97213 View Post
    The movie also came with 1 additional folder named SUB and within are 2 files, one titled "VTS_0_0" (with extension .sub) and "Your Free Film.fragment" (with extension .sub) so I assume they are both subtitle files to use with, each for whatever method of authoring you choose.