VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. English is not my first language, but I'll try and explain my problem the best I can

I bought a new hi8 cassette a couple of weeks ago because I wanted to film on a weekend I was going to spend away, and the only camera I have at the moment is a old hi8 camera. The problem is that when I watched what I have filmed, there was this loud distorted "industrial" sound that came in the beginning of each new take. At first it slowly faded away after a few seconds and then you could hear normal sounds. But after a while the sound lasted longer and longer until it became constant. I have to scream into the mic to hear my voice over the distortion, and even then you can barley hear what I'm screaming.

I'm a newbie when it comes to cameras but I guess there is a problem with the record head (A hi8 camcordes does have a record head yes?) Because when I connect the camera to my TV and use it as a passthrough the audio is fine. It also has no audio problems when I playback old tapes.

this may sound like a dumb question but could it help if I used a cleaning tape in record mode? or would that damage things even more?
    Is there something I can do or is it busted?

btw there is no problems with the picture, just the audio
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by HidenSeek View Post
    English is not my first language, but I'll try and explain my problem the best I can