VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi, this is my first post here.

I have been searching forums for days and can't seem to find a solution to my problem. I have a couple of hundred MKV files. They each have 1 video stream, 3 audio streams, and one subtitle track. 2 of the audio streams are in English, while the third is in Japanese. The difference between the two English streams is that they have different music (anime). I want to switch the default audio track from the first English stream to the second one. However, I am a complete noob with this kind of stuff and have spent days playing with command lines and installing programs that I don't even know what they do.

Also, I want to be able to do this for hundreds of files. I know that I can do it for each file with MKVMerge GUI, but I don't want to do it for multiple files. I would prefer to not remux the files. However, if I have to, I will. If all that doesn't work, I'll settle with just deleting the first audio stream. However, since it needs to be done in batch, only through a command line will I be able to accomplish this.

UPDATE 1: I forgot to mention that I found this command line for FFmpeg in another thread: %%a in ("*.mkv") do "mkvmerge" -o "%%a-newvideo.mkv" "--forced-track" "2:no" "--language" "3:eng" "--default-track" "3:yes" "--forced-track" "3:no" "--display-dimensions" "3:16x9" "-a" "2" "-d" "3" "-S" "%%a" "--track-order" "0:2,0:3"

I found it here: https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/304766-Strip-out-an-audio-track-from-an-MKV-container

Unfortunately, it does the exact opposite of what I want. All it does is extract the audio stream that I don't want. It deletes everything else. I know that this is close and that a few edits will make it work, but I am not experienced with this at all. Please help me.