VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. First off, forgive me if I missed this answer in my searches. I've plowed through for two days and couldn't find anything. I usually don't have to post for help, because I can always find the answers, you guys rock.

What I need is really simple. I have DVD files already on my computer, and want to transfer into mpeg (or whatever is best for online), merging the subtitles, so I can cut & share a clip online with a long distance friend (best quality possible) (I hope that's not a taboo subject).

I have Tempgenc mpg editor 2.0, but it doesn't pick up the subtitles [, which are half the fun. I have no problem wasting a day re-encoding the whole movie so I can cut the pieces w/tempg if that's what it takes.

I really need a free program, because I'm destitue, and I'm not very technical savy. I'm much more like a cavewoman with a club, I can bash about and get results, but if there are too many settings I get scared and confused (FIRE!).

I have Super on my computer, but can't figure it out at all. Any awesome suggestions? And thanks!
    Last edited by geekfemme; 1st Mar 2011 at 20:42. Reason: more clarification
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    You can make your own subtitles from the original dvd.

Subrip is the program to use.

Go into the https://www.videohelp.com/guides link and search for subrip. It will give you instructions on how to use it.

It will go through the subtitles on the video and you have to manually correct the ocr. It will prompt you to clarify the letters. On a two hour movie it took me about ten minutes to go through the disc with only correcting a few lines every now and then. You don't do anything other than type in a letter or two so the computer knows what it is.