VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    I'm new to editing. I'm about to buy a used Sony MiniDV camcorder in a few days. I want to start shooting my own video and start editing it. The goal is to learn how to
    edit good scenes and such. My real goal is to go back to college and take some classes on film/TV editing. But that will be this summer or next fall, so now I want to practice.
    I know the cam I'm going to get. After I get that I want to buy some basic editing software.

I'm looking at Adobe Premiere Elements 9 or the Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 10 Suite. I will be shooting in standard definition since I was told that it will be faster
    to edit on my computers. My laptop that I want to use has a 1.60GHz duo processor with 1GB or ram. I would consider upgrading the ram if that will help.

I'm looking for something that I can learn, study, read about, and grow with. Amazon has the Adobe Premiere Elements for around $89. Amazon has the Sony Suite for $94.

Of course I want to move to Final Cut Pro but that will be in the future after I get a Mac. But for now I want to start to practice editing with one of these two programs.

Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search PM
    You can go to the products' site and download a free trial.

I'm using the free trial of Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 10. I've tried Adobe Premiere Elements trial in the past and its too basic. For the same price range, you can do more with Vegas. The interface for Vegas looks complicated and take a while to get used to but I definitely get Vegas over Premiere Elements. You have more control with it. It almost feels like having Adobe Premiere Pro, which costs over $600.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    FCP is for gays, Premiere is for wusses, and Vegas is for manly men. Now you know the truth, and can make an informed decision
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search PM