VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 19 of 19
Thread
  1. [url=http]text[/url] Denvers Dawgs's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2003
    Location: Right Behind You. . .
    Search Comp PM
    Ok so I have a bartPE disc that when run it says "Error unable to install network adapters", (searches x:i386/system32/penetcfg-dhcp.ini) Dynamic IP address (DHCP), so I am unable to get a restore image off my network. I then tried to use my external drive that has the restore image on it as well, but can't seem to figure out how to map a drive network to link to the external? So my questions are:

    1. Where can I find the network adapters to install onto a new bartpe disc?
    2. Is it possible to use bartpe and Map network Drive to an external drive, if so how?
    What We Do In Life, Echoes In Eternity....
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    The drivers should be on CD or DVD that came with motherboard if you have onboard network adapter or the disc that came with PCI adapter if you have PCI network adapter, but I don't know how to map a network drive. However, I can tell you the way I use BartPE to create or restore an image on a system to an external hard drive which is to use the BartPE plugin that comes with Seagate Discwizard when creating the BartPE CD. Then all I have to do to create or restore an image is to boot to BartPE CD with the external drive connected to the system.
    Last edited by bevills1; 4th Feb 2011 at 13:52.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Hello Ladies stiltman's Avatar
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: Studio 54
    Search Comp PM
    you don't map a drive to an external drive.
    If you have the drivers loaded for your USB/Firewire/ESATA drive, it will show up under one of the file managers. However, depending on how you built your BartPE disc, you might not see any partition over 1gig. However, my imaging software will see 2-4gb partitions, so it doesn't matter to me to see them via one of the file managers.
    http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/drivers/
    tgpo famous MAC commercial, You be the judge?
    Originally Posted by jagabo
    I use the FixEverythingThat'sWrongWithThisVideo() filter. Works perfectly every time.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date: Oct 2007
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Use UBCD4WIN instead of Bart. It incldes driverpack.net and is very unlikely that your drivers will not be included. You may also want to read this thread on the UBCD4WIN forums before you post over there with issues with driverpack.net

    http://ubcd4win.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=12909
    Quote Quote  
  5. highly recommend the UBCD4WIN disk. Have used it many times and only failed to recognize one oddball wireless card. Very useful.
    Quote Quote  
  6. [url=http]text[/url] Denvers Dawgs's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2003
    Location: Right Behind You. . .
    Search Comp PM
    I can not get the UBCD4WIN disc to autorun on startup. I changed boot order to make sure cd/dvd is first in line, but it just won't load?
    What We Do In Life, Echoes In Eternity....
    Quote Quote  
  7. [url=http]text[/url] Denvers Dawgs's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2003
    Location: Right Behind You. . .
    Search Comp PM
    Is it possible to simply copy the folders from a working BartPE disc and burn them to another cd? I did this thinking if I just added a few newer drivers to the drivers folder of a working (auto runs on start up) cd, then burn that working bart PE folder with the new drivers to a new cd, that in theory I should have a new working cd with updated drivers, but it seems not to work that way. It just won't boot up before windows does, and I have the cd drive listed 1st in the boot order. After windows boots, the bartpe runs though? Any ideas how to fix this issue of not booting at start up?
    Last edited by Denvers Dawgs; 10th Feb 2011 at 13:37.
    What We Do In Life, Echoes In Eternity....
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member ranchhand's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2005
    Location: USA-midwest
    Search Comp PM
    Where did you download your ISO from? Maybe a bad download or bad burn. I have three of them and each one has never failed to boot from the DVD. I use them of lots of different machines all the time.
    Quote Quote  
  9. [url=http]text[/url] Denvers Dawgs's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2003
    Location: Right Behind You. . .
    Search Comp PM
    I never made or had an iso, is just dragged the files from the working (boot on startup, but still wouldn't install network adapters,) bartpe disc I have to a folder on my pc, then wrote those files (plus a few new drivers, which I hope will fix the "Error unable to install network adapters" i'm having) to a new cd.
    What We Do In Life, Echoes In Eternity....
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member ranchhand's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2005
    Location: USA-midwest
    Search Comp PM
    Try this: http://www.serverninjas.com/ultimate-tool-list/boot-utilities/ultimate-boot-cd-for-win...d4win-download

    I am not sure if it has all the networking features you want, but the cost to try is right :0)
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Just dragging files and burning to CD will not create bootable CD. BartePE has an iso creation step, and burning the iso to CD creates bootable CD. I think UBCD4WIN is similar, and burning iso to CD is necessary to create bootable CD I believe.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member ranchhand's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2005
    Location: USA-midwest
    Search Comp PM
    I just checked my version last night, and I can map networks and drives in it. I haven't done that, but I have surfed the internet with it and it worked fine. Strange feeling to surf the net with no AV and no Firewall needed!
    Quote Quote  
  13. [url=http]text[/url] Denvers Dawgs's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2003
    Location: Right Behind You. . .
    Search Comp PM
    The whole odd thing that started this all, was that a BartPE disc that I had been using for years suddenly gave me the Error unable to install network adapters , a few days ago I tried to run a newly created UBCD BartPE disc, but it didn't auto run again.. This is beginning to drive me nuts
    What We Do In Life, Echoes In Eternity....
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date: Jun 2004
    Location: Victoria, Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Denvers Dawgs View Post
    ...a BartPE disc that I had been using for years...
    Probably your main problem, you'll have years old network drivers in it and it doesn't know the new hardware you're trying to run it on.
    Originally Posted by Denvers Dawgs View Post
    ...a newly created UBCD BartPE disc...
    As mentioned, you can't just copy/paste files to make a disc bootable.

    Try the suggestion mentioned, UBCD4WIN, and BUILD YOUR OWN DISC FROM SCRATCH. You'll need a Windows install CD to start from, but you have the advantage of being able to pick & choose which freeware tools you want included and if you have the required files (even off your current disk) you can add specific commercial tools too (like Norton Ghost)
    Quote Quote  
  15. [url=http]text[/url] Denvers Dawgs's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2003
    Location: Right Behind You. . .
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by TJohns View Post
    Originally Posted by Denvers Dawgs View Post
    ...a BartPE disc that I had been using for years...
    Probably your main problem, you'll have years old network drivers in it and it doesn't know the new hardware you're trying to run it on.
    What is odd, is I used the disc just 2 weeks ago and it was able to install the drivers on the same network and same make/model of computer. But then ealier this week it can no long find the drivers no matter what make/model pc I try it on.

    I'll try and make a running UBCD disc.
    What We Do In Life, Echoes In Eternity....
    Quote Quote  
  16. Don't mess with it, just download the ISO and burn it. Ready to go.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date: Oct 2007
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    UBCD4WIN is not an ISO file. You download the iso builder.

    You have to have a copy of xp sp2 or sp3 copied to your hard drive as the iso builder will ask for the location. Typically recovery cd's and modified versions of xp will not work.

    Then you go through all the plugins and select the ones you want to include.

    Most plugins require little or no setup but driverpack.net does, that is the link i posted above in post # 4.

    The final step is to build an ISO then burn it.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member ranchhand's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2005
    Location: USA-midwest
    Search Comp PM
    Marioval.... you can do that, or you can download a pre-constructed ISO from the link I posted and it saves a ton of time. Most anything you need is on there.
    http://www.mrbass.org/ubcd/
    Quote Quote  
  19. [url=http]text[/url] Denvers Dawgs's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2003
    Location: Right Behind You. . .
    Search Comp PM
    All is good, got my ubcd disc up and running. Thanks for all the help.
    What We Do In Life, Echoes In Eternity....
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads