VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi everyone,

First off, a warning: I'm not an expert in video in general or with the tools I have on hand, so please excuse me if I am not clear in the way I present my problem. Here goes:

I have a collection of mp4 video files which I located on the Internet that all seem to have duplicate frames in a pattern that produces a lurching movement I'm hoping to eliminate. But because I'm far from an expert, I don't recognize the pattern or how to eliminate it, and it doesn't seem to correspond to the frame rate that I can see.

The videos are mp4s with H264 encoding, 29.97 fps progressive.

From playing back the video frame by frame, I have seen this unusual alternating pattern which lasts 72 frames before resetting:

Code:
    1d 1d 1d 1d 1d 1d 1d 1d 1d 1d 1d 1d 1d 1d 1d 1 2d 1 2d 1 2d 1 2d 1 2d 1 2d 1 2d 1 2d 1 2d 1 2d 1 2d 1 2d 1 2d 1 2d
    I hope that's clear. The "d" stands for a duplicate of the frame before, and the numbers for unique frames. As you can hopefully see, there is first a sequence of single frames with duplicates (15 unique doubled frames), followed by a series of two unique frames and then one duplicate (a total of 42 frames with the dupes). This pattern then resets back to the beginning and repeats, through the whole video. With dupes, the whole sequence lasts for 72 frames.