VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, I'm a newbie to video editing and I'm having some problems. Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction. My wife bought me a Panasonic HDC-HS250 hidef camcorder about a year ago and I've just been copying the .mts files over to a hard drive and viewing them in Windows Media player as needed.
    Last week I installed Adobe Premiere and went through some online tutorials on how to get started cutting and splicing. When I load the videos into Premiere and play them they are a little jittery and garbled. When I play back the final output in the other window it's even worse. The videos play fine in Windows Media Player. Is this just a case of my computer being under powered to deal with these files. I've read that you need quite a bit of horse power to deal with these mts files.

My computer config is..
    Windows 7 x64, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 @2.66GHz., 8GB RAM
    1st. hard drive - Seagate ST3500418AS 500GB SATA 7200 RPM
    2nd. hard drive - Seagate ST31000340SV 1TB SATA 7200 RPM

Thanks
    Rob
    Last edited by rgibson; 10th Jan 2011 at 19:02. Reason: Include computer config.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Windows Media player is probably using DirectShow hardware decode to play the file.

Which version of Adobe Premiere?

What project settings?

Did you try to export?

If you export to Blu-Ray standard MPeg2 or h.264 it will probably play in WMP or MPCHC with hardware decode.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for the quick reply. I'm using CS4. I believe the project is set to HDV 1080i30.
    I did export it but I don't remember what settings I used and I deleted the file as it was garbled as well.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    An HDV project will require import AVCHD (h.264) video to recode before a preview is possible.