VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. 1. What is the best video conversion tool today, that stays up to date and is open source? I am still using Handbrake but it is starting not to work with some of the new formats. I am a professional editor and use Adobe Premiere Pro for all my major projects, but it is just overkill for personal and home conversions.

2. What is the best muxing program (if not the same as the answer to #1)? I have a MKV video file and a DTS audio file that I need to mux into one MKV. No conversion, just must it into a MKV container with both audio and video streams. I have already tried Super, and it failed/crashed on Win 7 64 bit.

If possible please do not recommend the cheap/horribly though out programs like ImToo Video products, Riverpast products or ones like Total Video Converter, etc...You know the ones, where the GUI looks like it took 5 minutes to make, and the output file is always half the quality you expected even after 6 hours of transcoding.

Thanks
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by milOtis View Post
    2. I have a MKV video file and a DTS audio file that I need to mux into one MKV. No conversion, just mux it into a MKV container with both audio and video streams.

Most people would use mkvmergeGUI (mmg) for this job.
    From here:- http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkvtoolnix/docs.html
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by bat999 View Post
    Originally Posted by milOtis View Post
    2. I have a MKV video file and a DTS audio file that I need to mux into one MKV. No conversion, just mux it into a MKV container with both audio and video streams.

Most people would use mkvmergeGUI (mmg) for this job.
    From here:- http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkvtoolnix/docs.html
    Awesome, worked like a charm! 3 minutes to remux a whole 2hr movie. Nice advice!
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM