VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have been archiving video to DVD since 2003. Back then, I was told that the rule of thumb (using iMovie and iDVD) was that about 80 minutes could be put on a DVD without any noticeable loss in quality (based on my experiences, that seemed to be about right). Going beyond 80 minutes, you would still have high quality that might be perfectly acceptable for some applications, but you would start to get imperfections that might not be acceptable for archiving purposes. I'm sure that encoders have improved over the years, but by how much? I'm curious what are the current rules of thumb for the current generation of encoders. My work involves sports events in which the camera often pans horizontally -- this type of movement is the first to show signs of degradation when you get greedy. I know several individuals who think that you should never go over about 60 minutes. I want to preserve quality, but 60 minutes seems to be over-kill.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    30 to 70 minutes
    https://www.videohelp.com/dvd#comp

"Archiving" means 100% quality....IE...you should never even consider changing or lessening the quality
    by worrying about movie/footage duration. A 1 to 1 copy is the only acceptable answer. A movie that
    spans across two layers of a dual layer DVD gets "archived" to either another dual layer DVD or it is split
    to fit two single layer DVDs.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Unless your source was DVD compliant MPG-2 to begin with, and all you did was author it to a DVD structure, the answer is none. Every time you encode using a lossy compression, you lose quality. Your DVDs are not archival. They may be good quality backups, but they are not the original video if you had to encode to get there.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM