VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3
1 2 3 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    I didn't see a recent thread on this, so here goes.

I have been testing trial versions of Blu-Ray ripping software. Hoping to find a good one before buying. I hate having to go through the refund process after I find out what I purchased is crap.

At least 10 of them don't work as trial versions. Either they just don't open the BD, or they ask for another program to be installed. Most of them look like they're the same program with a different skin:
    Pavtube
    DVDfab
    Odin
    Best
    Leawo
    Moyea
    Lekusoft
    iovsoft
    aimersoft
    aunsoft

And 2 did OK, but still had some issues:
    Shinesoft (a lot of "failed" attempts)
    Aiseesoft (main problem is it won't start ripping on Doctor Who series 5 BD, won't even preview it. BBC DVD's have been known to have issues copying too)

I've been using Magic DVD ripper & copier for about 3 years and have always been happy with the results, but they don't seem to have gotten to BD ripping.

Also, I'd like to be able to do the higher quality output available from Blu-Ray.

What are the best apps anybody here has used? Any of them have the option to increase the volume of the output file?

Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    AnyDVDHd. Only ripping. Convert/Shrink with free software.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Agreed, AnyDVDHD is tops, but DVDFabPasskey is pretty good too and cheaper.

DVDFab is okay if you like all the extras it offers. Some do, not me. The only free Blu-Ray ripper any more is DVDFabHDDecrypter (free version of DVDFab), but updates lag behind the pay version. What that means is it might not rip a disc with newer protection until some weeks have passed. DumpHD is free but very cumbersome, doubtful, and not updated any more, to my knowledge. There you have it, that's all, if you pay for anything else, you're gonna get ripped off.