VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: Failabama
    Search Comp PM
    I just did pick a Hauppauge HD PVR Model 1212 and I really want to record gameplay footage with my Wii. I've a Viore HDTV to record on and universal component cables.

    My component cables are similar to this --> http://www.gamestop.com/Catalog/ProductDetails.aspx?product_id=33927

    Except, they are without a yellow cable. Just red, red, green, blue, white.

    I tried plugging the component cables into the bottom of the PVR and then running the double ended component cables as I should, to the PVR and to my tv. I noticed that one spot on my tv had a section for yellow but if the double ended component cables didn't come with a yellow cable, then I didn't figure that would be a problem.

    Upon attempting to test it out my first time, I noticed that the colors on the screen after turning on my Wii were faded. As well, red lines were peppered horizontally throughout the screen. The red lines only went away when I unplugged the red cables from my PVR out of frustration. I've my resolution set to 720p with my Wii as opposed to i, so I'm sure that isn't the problem. Did I plug something in wrong or do I need different cables?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date: Jul 2001
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Something's not registering as I read your post. Here's how it should be setup:

    - Wii, 480p (there is no 720 on the Wii), Widescreen

    - Wii component to the component splitter. This is red/green/blue only. Yellow is for composite. You will not get progressive scan from composite.

    - Component splitter: One end to the TV and one end to the PVR.

    Make sure that the red/green/blue cables are in the red/green/blue plugs on the TV and the PVR. Mixing them up can cause the issues you're seeing.

    I'm not familiar with the PVR but you'll need to set it to capture 480p. No idea if you'll need 30 or 60 fps (frame per second).*

    So: Wii component to component splitter, splitter to TV and splitter to PVR.

    * = I'm pretty sure it would be 30fps at 480p but I'll leave that to you to research or someone else that actually knows.
    Have a good one,

    neomaine

    NEW! VideoHelp.com F@H team 166011!
    http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=166011

    Folding@Home FAQ and download: http://folding.stanford.edu/
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: Failabama
    Search Comp PM
    Well, I got the color showing up as it should and the red bars are now eliminated, however I have another issue. When clicking on Total Media Extreme on my laptop *the program to show what is being recorded off my Hauppauge* it states that *the device is not available or is being used by another application. Please close any applications that may be using the device and try again* I've closed out of Total Media and have opened it again, only to be met with the same issue. So, I'm unsure as to what the issue is.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date: Jul 2001
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Great news! I'm not famiar with the Hauppage products so I'll have to defer to other owners. Maybe you could try a forum on the Hauppage site or other Hauppage dedicated forum.

    Otherwise, have you tried other capturing tools? I've heard of success with other capture devices with VirtualDub. You could give that a try and see if it recognizes the card.
    Have a good one,

    neomaine

    NEW! VideoHelp.com F@H team 166011!
    http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=166011

    Folding@Home FAQ and download: http://folding.stanford.edu/
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: Failabama
    Search Comp PM
    My luck is horrible. I tried out Virtual Dub and while it actually picked up my HD PVR, after I set my capture file, I clicked on capture video and an error came up stating 'Unable to start capture'. No explanation as to why, that's simply what it said. I clicked 'Test Capture Video' and the same error showed up.

    Edit: I tried Total Media Extreme again for the hell of it and it's showing up now. I've no idea what happened in between the time periods but...it works @_@
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date: Jul 2001
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for following up. Have fun!
    Have a good one,

    neomaine

    NEW! VideoHelp.com F@H team 166011!
    http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=166011

    Folding@Home FAQ and download: http://folding.stanford.edu/
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: Failabama
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for helping~
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: Freedonia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Kelranox View Post
    My luck is horrible. I tried out Virtual Dub and while it actually picked up my HD PVR, after I set my capture file, I clicked on capture video and an error came up stating 'Unable to start capture'. No explanation as to why, that's simply what it said. I clicked 'Test Capture Video' and the same error showed up.
    VirtualDub doesn't work at all with a lot of a capture cards/devices as capturing software. There's no fix for that. Either it works or it doesn't. "Unable to start capture" is the message you get when you cannot actually use it with your card/device. It fools you by seeming to find your device or card, but that doesn't mean it will actually work.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Hoover Fanatic budwzr's Avatar
    Join Date: Apr 2007
    Location: City Of Angels
    Search Comp PM
    Sometimes the box freezes, dunno why. Just pull the power and restart it.

    Don't use a superlong USB cable (>15 Ft) unless it has an inline booster.

    Check for firmware update at Hauppage.


    Originally Posted by Kelranox View Post
    Well, I got the color showing up as it should and the red bars are now eliminated, however I have another issue. When clicking on Total Media Extreme on my laptop *the program to show what is being recorded off my Hauppauge* it states that *the device is not available or is being used by another application. Please close any applications that may be using the device and try again* I've closed out of Total Media and have opened it again, only to be met with the same issue. So, I'm unsure as to what the issue is.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads