VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Greetings--

I'm using avidemux to edit some videos taken with a digital camera (Sony DSC-T30). The camera gives me MPG files. After I edit the file in avidemux, I change "copy" to a particular video codec and create a new file. The problem is that the new file is always of a poorer quality than the original. I have experimented with different codecs and settings, trying to get the highest quality possible. In fact, I don't really want to compress the video, but it seems that I have to do so in order to save my changes. Even the lossless codecs (FFV1 and Huffyuv, I think?) produce videos of a lesser quality than the original.

Perhaps there is a simple solution or maybe I'm doing something wrong (I'm new to video-editing, but that's probably obvious), but I think my question is "How can I save my changes without decreasing the quality?"

Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    What kind of editing are you doing? You can use copy mode if you are just cutting,joining but I guess you are using some filters.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by tlee View Post
    Even the lossless codecs (FFV1 and Huffyuv, I think?) produce videos of a lesser quality than the original.
    I found a sample MPG video from that camera. It's 640x480, 30 fps, MPEG 1, all I frame, ~9600 kbps, constant bitrate, progressive.
    http://www.dcresource.com/reviews/sony/dsc_t30-review/MOV00014.MPG

I don't know FFV1, but HuffYUV should not be of lesser quality -- but it will be much larger than your source MPG file. I recompressed the above sample with HuffYUV and the output was visibly identical to the source.

If you recompress with MPEG 2 at the same bitrate and similar settings as the original the quality should only degrade a little bit.