VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have in the last couple of days googled and did so awhile back and don't seem to see anything new in terms of being able to rid of the annoying trailers and warnings on a dvd that is being backed up.
    Is there anything new out there that a non tech end user like myself maybe able to understand and use.
    I look forward to comments, thank you.
    BTW, I thought it best to indicate that I am not a techie user and need basics to understand and accomplish a correct end result.
    Cheers.
    Toshiba Satellite M50-MX 5
    1.8ghz, 1 gig RAM,Intel Pent 4, xpsp2,
    BenQ 162I 16X External Burner
    Western Digital Storage Device 160 gigs
    Quote Quote  
  2. Dunno about anything new, but there are some tried-and-true ways to do it:

1) DVDShrink in reauthor mode. Result is movie-only, no trailers or anything else. Free.

2) VobBlanker. With this one you can keep menus but eliminate the trailers, warnings, etc. Requires a little work to learn, but really, any intelligent adult putting forth some effort can master it. I was up and running in less than half an hour after reading a guide, no problem. Free.

3) Nero Recode. Like DVDShrink but without the decryption capability. Can selectively eliminate titlesets while retaining menus. I haven't used it, but AFAIK it can kill trailers and warnings. Payware, but Nero is commonly bundled with DVDBurners. (I have a drawer full of Nero install discs).

Good luck.
    Pull! Bang! Darn!
    Quote Quote  
  3. 4) PGCEdit to skip over the garbage and go straight to the menu:

This method allows you to jump to any menu or title on insertion of your DVD, setting the audio and subtitle streams of your choice and by-passing anything in your way (e.g. annoying FBI warnings, studio promos and Dolby Digital trailers) and having all the DVDs internal registers set exactly as they would be if the commands followed the original path.