VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi,

I'm quite new in this video world, so I don't even know if the following is possible. I hope the question fits to this forum. Any help is appreciated!

I'm planning to put up the following scientific setup: I'd like to capture video from two screens at resolution 1600x1200 and sync the video with the voice from microphone. The other screen shows my software running and the other screen shows pictures and video from web cam that is recording subject's face. I'd like to capture even small facial expressions, so quite high fps is required (>20).

I've tried many (sigh...) different screen capture programs, but all of them have some problems. The one that gets most close to what I want is BB FlashBack, but it achieves at most 15 fps and voice sync is a problem. I have relatively powerful computer but the screen capture process takes 50-80 % of the processor time, which is too much.

So - do you see any solution for this? Is purely software based solution doomed to fail? If video capture card(s) could be used, how would this happen? To me it seems appealing solution to attach some kind of "capture box" between computer and displays.

Thanks a million!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Originally Posted by jazuju View Post
    I'd like to capture video from two screens at resolution 1600x1200... >20 fps... Is purely software based solution doomed to fail?
    Yes. 3200x1200 is just too many pixels to be moving around.

Originally Posted by jazuju View Post
    If video capture card(s) could be used, how would this happen? To me it seems appealing solution to attach some kind of "capture box" between computer and displays.