VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi All. I have a ripped DVD folder on my PC that is VIDEO_TS. The video is a home move that has been burned to DVD from VHS. The audio and video are horrible synced. About 5 seconds off. Not sure how it got that way but I'd like to resync it.

I suppose I need to convert the video_ts folder to an AVI and then split the streams. But I'm a rookie and not sure how to go about this.

What would I use to convert the video folder to AVI and at that point how can I sync the audio?

Thanks.

PS> I looked through the tool section of this website adn there are thousands of tools. I'm overwhelmed.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    I wouldn't convert it to AVI type format. No need. Important question, is the audio sync error the same the full length of the playback or does it gradually get worse? If this is the problem, a bit more complicated.

First you can play it back with Media Player Classic HC. Within the player there is a adjustment for audio sync. Use that till the sync is correct and note the audio offset, plus or minus.

Then you can extract the MPEG-2 with the audio using VOB2MPG.

Put that file into AVIDemux with video and audio set for 'Copy' and the video as MPEG video. Under the audio selection you will see a box that says 'Shift'. Check that and input your audio offset. Save the video. Check it.

If it's correct now, reauthor it back to a DVD if that's your final destination. GUI for dvdauthor can do that. A really basic authoring program is DVDAuthorgui.

Burn it to disc with Imgburn and you're done.

Those are all freeware programs.

Other members may suggest different methods.

And welcome to our forums.
    Quote Quote