VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Background:
    Few days ago I saw this guy post a 84 MB video (let's say default.mp4) online that had the same quality as another 164 MB default.format video. I asked the guy how he did it. He sent me the instructions full of command lines. I am guessing the instructions are pretty detailed for an expert, but being a noob, I decided to try out 7 GUI based video conversion softwares with the same settings (to make this experiment as controlled as possible) to see how each performs, and how good of a size to quality ratio I can get.

Reason for choosing H.264:
    After lots of research, I found H.264 to have the best size-quality ratio.

The softwares are:
    • AVS Video Converter 6.3 (Commercial)
    • FormatFactory 2.5 (Free)
    • iWisoft Free Video Converter (Free)
    • MediaCoder 0.7.5.4740 x64 (Free & Open Source)
    • SUPER (Free)
    • WinAVI AIO Converter 1.1.0.3897 (Commercial)
    • Xilisoft Video Converter Ultimate 6.0.4 (Commercial)

Subject:
    A 1.1 GB 720p mkv video.

Objective:
    Get the best size-quality ratio at 480p within a reasonable time frame.

Note:
    I have heard good things about Handbrake, but I heard experts say that the GUI does not produce as good of a result as the CLI. And I am CLI-phobic. I have used Handbrake GUI in the past, and I didn't really get a good size to quality ratio within a reasonable time.

Here are my findings:
    7zip: http://www.mediafire.com/?4yxy2etly5i7f63
    Zip: http://www.mediafire.com/?l14f9uz06qqeqv9

I have made a folder for each software.
    In each folder you will find-
    - a screenshot of the settings
    - a screenshot of the converted video
    - technical info about the converted video
    - a small summary of my findings about the conversion process and the output.

If you are too lazy, or don't have time, here are my final thoughts:

Winner: MediaCoder