VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I apologize ahead of time as I know this has been asked before...I tried searching the forums but the answers were either a little too technical or didn't match what I was looking for.

I have a canon vixia hf100 that I bought. When I upload the video to the PC, the playback is extremely choppy and slow (using Windows Media Player, Divx, software that came with camcorder)...I wasn't sure if it is a computer problem or due to the avchd format.

I'm pretty new to this so any help would be much appreciated. I would like to firstly view my videos on the computer and then secondly edit them. Perhaps I need to convert the .mts files?

If you can tell me how to find out my computer specs as well I'll tell you the specs of my pc.

Thanks,
    George
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by icecold0725 View Post
    ...I wasn't sure if it is a computer problem or due to the avchd format....using Windows Media Player, Divx, software that came with camcorder...
    Any form of AVC (also called H.264) is CPU intensive. It is highly compressed with key frames far apart, so, assuming there's no issue like a bad hard drive, RAM issues, etc, choppy playback could be any combination of a slower computer or the format. As well, depending on your system, you may want to look into other players, such as if you have multiple cores then MPC HC can optimize playback as such.
    I would like to firstly view my videos on the computer and then secondly edit them. Perhaps I need to convert the .mts files?