VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi all,

First, pardon me if the question was answered before. If so, I couldn't find it. Second, I'm a noob.

As subject says, I'm trying to convert MP4/AAC to XVid/AC3 6ch so I can play it on my standalone DVD player. Whatever I try, video comes out fine, but audio doesn't. Converting to MP3 2ch audio works like a charm, but I really want 6 channels.

I've tried with FormatFactory first. VLC (Codec Info) shows that correct audio stream is preset, but I can't hear any sound, neither on computer or standalone player. Then I've read somewhere that FF has problems with encoding AC3, so I've uninstalled it and tried with other programs.

Whatever I tried (SUPER, XVid4PSP, ...) the same problem remains (some other too, but they don't support MP4). I've also tried to reinstall codecs (K-Lite and AC3filter), but no change.

I'm almost sure that this has something to do with my computer, but I'm really not competent enough to figure out what.

Does anyone have a suggestion for me? Thank you in advance!

/b
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Does the original actually have 6 channels ? Mediainfo can tell you if it does. If it doesn't, why bother trying to create something that isn't there ?
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by guns1inger View Post
    Does the original actually have 6 channels ?
    Yes, original sound is 6 channel (AAC encoded, which my standalone player doesn't like).
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by brugi View Post
    As subject says, I'm trying to convert MP4/AAC to XVid/AC3 6ch so I can play it on my standalone DVD player. Whatever I try, video comes out fine, but audio doesn't. Converting to MP3 2ch audio works like a charm, but I really want 6 channels.
    - Simple advice please do not try to convert AAC (2ch or 6 ch) to AC3 (6ch), why?