VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Please keep in mind that I'm new to all of this - just a day ago I knew nothing about colorspace.

Okay, I've got some VHS tapes which I have converted to DV AVI (NTSC Interlaced) using Pinnacle Studio 12 and Dazzle. I had no options in Studio when selecting DV AVI. I would like to load these files into CCE and create DVD compliant .mpv files. Here's the problem: I have discovered that CCE absolutely will not work with files encoded in the YV12 colorspace. Using the Info() Avisynth script, VirtuaDub tells me that these DV AVI files are YV12. That means that it will not work in CCE.

Here's where things really confuse me. According to avisynth.org, "YV12 is a 4:2:0 format" and "DV is 4:2:0 (PAL) and 4:1:1 (NTSC)".

Okay, but here's the problem: If I drop these DV AVI files into MediaInfo, it lists colorimetry as 4:1:1. But does that make any sense? AviSynth reports the file as YV12, so how can it be 4:1:1 also? I'm very confused over this.

I really need to know what this file really is because if it is YV12, I have found that there is an AviSynth script I can use when loading the file into CCE which will convert the file to YUY2 which CCE works with:

ConvertToYUY2(interlaced=true)

Apparently, I am able to load the file into CCE anyways because I have some YV12 codecs installed on my computer, but during my reading, I have found that it is a bad idea to allow the codec to convert YV12 to YUY2 because all the YV12 codecs assume progressive video, and mess up the chroma if you are using interlaced. According to the YV12 faq: