VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello I'm a bit of a newbie at this so please be gentle

I have a Region 1 DVD and want to rip it and then burn it onto a single layered DVDR that will be playable on a Region 2 player. I have ripped it with DVD Decrypter and I know have a 7.36Gb Image File.

My question is will this image file still be region 1 encoded or will I need to rip it again with some special settings or using another program?

Any help is much appreciated.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    DVD Decrypter removes the region code by default. Region 2 covers a wider geographic area, including Japan - which uses NTSC like region 1 - and the UK - which uses PAL. Simply changing region code does not alter the format (NTSC vs PAL). Most PAL players will play NTSC material, but not all. So while you have removed the region code, and the disc will most likely play in a region 2 PAL player, there are no guarantees.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by guns1inger View Post
    DVD Decrypter removes the region code by default. Region 2 covers a wider geographic area, including Japan - which uses NTSC like region 1 - and the UK - which uses PAL. Simply changing region code does not alter the format (NTSC vs PAL). Most PAL players will play NTSC material, but not all. So while you have removed the region code, and the disc will most likely play in a region 2 PAL player, there are no guarantees.

Thank you very much. I've played NTSC discs on this machine so should be ok. I just wasn't sure about the region code. Cheers.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Alan Rouge View Post
    I have a Region 1 DVD and want to rip it and then burn it onto a single layered DVDR that will be playable on a Region 2 player. I have ripped it with DVD Decrypter and I know have a 7.36Gb Image File.