VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi,

I'm new to avisynth but am loving the control it offers. I'm having major problems creating a fadein title for one of my videos.

I have the clip, and on top i'd like to fade in a smaller rectangle with some writing on it.

This is what I have so far

Code:
    base= DirectShowSource(\"sequencer.avi\").ConvertToYUY2().Sharpen(0.5)

temp1 = BlankClip(base, 180, 500, 250)
    temp2 = Subtitle(temp1, \"Test Subtitle\n and some more\",250,125,0, 180,\"Arial\", 60 ,$FFFFFF, align=5, lsp=1)
    temp3 = Trim(base, 5106, 5300)

Overlay(temp3, temp2.fadein(30), 110, 100, opacity=0.5)
    The opaque rectangle is placed correctly but does not fade in.

I've tried every different combination of multiple overlays and layers but cannot seem to get it to work.

I understand that because I'm in YUY2, I can't create a mask and do a showalpha()?
    I want the background clip to be constantly there, thus preventing a overall FadeIn on the Overlay
    I'm also trying to get the subtitle to have no opacity (while the background plate is 0.5 opacity)

(PS is there a good resource on explaining masks in a avisynth setting? I still haven't fully grasped it yet)

Thanks for any help you might be able to shed, these forums have been invaluable to me so far.

cheers
    damo
    Quote Quote  
  2. **bump**

Can anyone help me out or point me in the right direction?

cheers
    damo
    Quote Quote  
  3. are you trying to fade in the black box from 0 to 50% opacity ? and they fade out or stay at 50%?

what about the timing of the text ? how do you want it to fade in or out or stay ? and do you want it timed in unison with the black box ?