VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi can someone please tell me the difference in these encodes. Are they the same in quality. are they hd, reason I'm saying this is because I spent a whole day downloading a movie 720p which was 2.5gb and that evening I find the same movie in 720p at 700mb and I can't tell the difference.
    Both in in h264 aac audio.
    I am new to videos and please excuse my ignorance and if I posted in the wrong section.

Thank you
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    If you really can't tell the difference then one of the following is happening

1. The running time is relatively short - less than 30 minutes - and the larger file is using far more bitrate than is necessary
    2. The larger file has been really badly encoded and looks as crappy as a heavily compressed 700 mb file
    3. You are watching these on an iPod nano, and on a screen that small you simply can't see the difference
    4. Your seeing eye dog is lying to you about how good the 2.5GB file really looks

Just for shits and giggles, post a mediainfo tree view of both files so we can see what you are looking at
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    In addition to guns1inger's thoughts, if it's animation, note that animation looks better at lower bit rates than live action. Live action at the same low bit rate would look very bad. If you were looking at, say, The Simpsons, yes, I could believe that you really can't tell much of a difference between the 2 versions.
    Quote Quote  
  4. My thought is that the 700 MB one isn't 720p, but maybe sourced from 720p and then down-rezzed to 624x352 or some such. But, as guns1inger says, we'll need the MediaInfo info.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    hey guys sorry for the late response as i had no idea how to get mediainfo but i managed with my expertise!!!lol